Female Vocals Mix.

Those who have read this blog since the beginning (it has been around for a couple of months) know that occasionally I will post a mix of 5-10 songs from my collection. Often the mixes have no theme, sometimes they have a very loose one.

Today’s theme is female vocals. No specific genre- just songs with female vocals. I am leaving Aretha, Nina, Patsy, Ella, Anita and Billie out of this mix because they are all getting seperate posts in the near future.
Mix under the cut

Alison Krauss & Union Station- The Lucky One, from Alison Krauss & Union Station- Live.

The Tonettes- No Tears, from The Stax-Volt Singles – Vol.1-Disc 1 – 59-68.

Fiest- Mushaboom, from Let It Die.

Eva Cassidy- Autumn Leaves.

Shemekia Copeland- God’s Word, from Martin Scorsese Presents The Blues – Soundtracks – The Soul Of A Man.

Julie Doiron- The Best Thing For Me, from Julie Doiron & The Wooden Stars.

.

.

.

I am aware that this song has absolutely no place being here, but………..

Steppenwolf- Magic Carpet Ride, from Steppenwolf: All Time Greatest Hits.

I couldn’t resist.

As usual, if you like any of these tracks I highly suggest purchasing the albums that they are from and supporting the artists (and their estate, should they be deceased) who have worked to create these songs and share them with us. Thank you.

16 Responses to Female Vocals Mix.

  1. Deb says:

    StrongandFree,

    Did you hear the story about how Michelle and Jessica’s fan sites implored them to collaborate because of the sounds of their voice. They are supposedley very close friends. It was just something I read in passing.

  2. Deb says:

    I hope that you’re refering to Patsy Cline. Country is not my favorite genre, but there are artists that I enjoy. Patsy is one of those soulful singers that I have listed before. If this is not the Patsy that you had in mind please consider her.

    There is a great fun place in the West Village in NYC, called the Cowgirls Hall of Fame. Lot’s of Patsy memorabilia. I look foward to the “spotlights”.

  3. StrongandFree says:

    Just bought ‘The Wreckers’ CD, Michelle Branch and Jessica Harp. The whole thing is good, not one bad song in the bunch. Love that they are both songwriters. You can listen to the album on CMT.com if you want to give it a listen….

    http://www.cmt.com/artists/az/wreckers2/1238357/album.jhtml

  4. hwc says:

    “hwc, if you like Gillian Welch, have you checked out Rusty Truck’s Broken Promises CD? She appears on two tracks. Great stuff!”

    No. I haven’t heard Rusty Trucks. But, I’ll check it out now. Thanks.

    I saw Gillian and David Rawlings perform live in Portland, ME a year or two ago. It was one of the most enchanting concerts I’ve seen. They have the rare ability to transport you to some different place or mood with each and every song. Dylan, of course, is the best at that.

    I love Gillian’s and David’s harmonies. And, he’s a really creative guitar player.

  5. kaleidoscopickris says:

    hwc, if you like Gillian Welch, have you checked out Rusty Truck’s Broken Promises CD? She appears on two tracks. Great stuff!

    Forgot to mention, re: Feist– I thought it was cool that she covered Ron Sexsmith’s Secret Heart on Let It Die– RS is someone Gray Charles introduced me to πŸ™‚

  6. hwc says:

    The Allison Krauss Live recording is also available on DVD. It’s spectacular.

    Even better, in some ways, is the DVD of the benefit concert “Down from the Mountain” at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville. This features all of the musicians and music from “Oh Brother Where Art Thou”. Great stuff, including an acapella version of the “Siren Song” from the movie by Allison Krauss, Emmylou Harris, and Gillian Welch. Another terrrific song is Gillian Welch and David Rawlings doing, “I Want to Sing That Rock n’ Roll”.

    In addition to wonderful music, this may be the best sounding live recording I’ve ever heard.

  7. kaleidoscopickris says:

    How funny you should include Feist– I just discovered her yesterday myself (through a compilation CD from last year’s Paste magazine). Love her sound!

    A couple of other female vocalists I discovered through Paste are Jessi Alexander and Shelby Lynne. Both have rich, soulful voices in the adult contemporary/alt country type genre.

    Patty Griffin is another fave! Joan Osbourne. Susan Tedeschi. Leela James. Just discovered Terri Walker today (yet another cover of Gnarls Barkley’s Crazy). Janis Joplin (goes without saying!)

    And finally, you can never forget Gladys Knight and Patti LaBelle! Two divas that sound even better Live than in the studio, IMHO.

  8. Calicoskies says:

    Allison Krause is one of the greats. I didn’t discover her until sitting in the theater watching Oh Brother Where Art Thou, I think in 2000, and immediately upon returning home, about 1AM, sat at the puter to find out more about all the glorious music I still had ringing in my head. I had the soundtrack cd soon after that. I hate to say, I found tracks on the infamous Nap&ter but then I loved them soooo much I bought 2 cds (one for my car, one for my hubby) Thats one heck of a great soundtrack and I traditionally shun movie soundtracks.

    Ok, someone else to add to this thread on female vocals. Last night, 06.23.06, my dvr found and recorded an older Storytellers for me (I love my dvr, she knows, no, she KNOWS me) Its from VH1Classic channel, and I’m not sure of the year but I can find it on VH1.com sometime later, by looking at Annie I’d guess last 5 yrs. I want to mention her here while I’m watching her right now cuz I’m enjoying it soooo much. Annie Lennox!!! I grew up in the 80s and The Eurythmics were a big part of my life then. She’s still superb, what a great voice. I love how strong she can belt, yet when she’s soft she goes deep and really connects. She sang Here Comes The Rain, and it was beautiful. Also did all the radio faves: Sweet Dreams, Love You Like A Ball and Chain, Would I Lie To You, Missionary Man and others. I loved all the intimate lil tidbits shared by her and Dave Stewart. Very fun show, I love most of the Storytellers.

    Something else: I love being 43yrs old now and seeing the music that I loved and appreciated as a naive kid and hearing that same music today sounding like the great music I thought it was then, only its even greater and new generations are appreciating it, and the tunes have stood the test of time (20yrs or so now) and basically, its just like an “I was right” moment and I dont typically have many of those.

    I know next to nothing about the mechanics of music. I cant sing, I cant read music, cant play an instrument, heck I really cant even dance tho not for lack of trying. But my ears and my heart work and I dont know how or why it happens but some music gets inside and connects and when it does, its really good stuff. I love bands that are so tight from having played together for years. I love real music, not manufactured poppy stuff, I dont know how else to say it. Genuine vocalists playing genuine instruments singing genuine songs with a genuine passion.

    My teen sons look thru my cd collection and rather than laugh at me or never come back for another look, they raid it and thats actually nice πŸ™‚

    Female vocalists I enjoy and respect, list in random order and I know I’m not remembering them all:
    Heart -Ann and Nancy Wilson
    Sheryl Crow
    Nelly Furtado
    Tina Turner
    Annie Lennox
    Etta James
    Christina Aguilera
    Patsy Cline
    Loretta Lynn
    Dolly Parton
    Madonna (dont laugh, I really do like Madonna)
    Emmy Lou Harris
    Crystal Gayle
    Alanis Morrisette
    Melissa Etheridge
    Bonnie Raitt

  9. jena says:

    Hey Ash., If Taylor is the boogie, YOU are the boogie-chick! Thanks for this πŸ˜€

  10. LAGirl says:

    Thanks, Ash. These are terrific. You and Gray have greatly expanded my knowledge of wonderful music.

  11. Carol says:

    Just stopped by to say “hello” this morning. Ash, I’ve had your site bookmarked for weeks and have visited it regularly. It was great before, so I will continue to hang out for awhile and watch its metamorphosis. Good luck!

  12. Phile says:

    Thanks. This is what I’ve been missing more than anything else.

    Looking forward to listening (and finally hearing Eva Cassidy – I sense I’m in for a treat).

  13. Pamela says:

    Coolness!!

    Will send an email your way soon! πŸ™‚

  14. Ash. says:

    The best way to contact me is to e-mail me at tayloristheboogie@gmail.com

    Thanks!

  15. Pamela says:

    Oh WONDERFUL!!! πŸ™‚

    Been looking for songs by females to sing along to!! Thank you, Ash!

    I love Eva Cassidy πŸ™‚ I love her rendition of Bridge Over Trouble Water and Fields of Gold. And her version of Somewhere Over the Rainbow, which I think Katharine McPhee sort of emulated in her performance (in some parts).

    Ash dear, would love to contribute some songs πŸ™‚ How would I go about that? Shall I email you? You might like I Follow by Audra McDonald.

    Enjoying myself immensely here!

    Much love,

    Pam πŸ™‚

  16. Claire says:

    Ash,

    Just listening to Alison Krauss as I’m typing. Now THAT’S music. Thanks. Can’t believe that’s live, they are soooooooooo good.

Leave a Reply

