Hey- It’s me, I’m dynamite and I don’t know why.

These were requested, it seems more than fitting for today’s mood, and I LOVE Van Morrison. Three reasons are enough, right? Of course.


Five tracks from Van Morrison’s Astral Weeks below the cut. Please check them out. I cannot say enough good things about this album.

Expect more detailed Van Morrison posts in the future.

Astral Weeks.

Beside You.

Sweet Thing. (note: if you ever want to win my heart, singing this to me might do it. )

Cypress Avenue.

The Way Young Lovers Do. (Jeff Buckley does a great live cover of this, which I might add later.)

As usual, if you like any of these tracks I highly suggest purchasing Astral Weeks and supporting Van Morrison who has worked to create these songs and share them with us. Thank you.

24 Responses to Hey- It’s me, I’m dynamite and I don’t know why.

  1. Mary Bell says:

    Huummmm…I wonder how many people here have been lurking on Van’s Internet Mailing List for many years?

  2. skeptickle says:

    One of all time favorite Van songs is Stranded. If you’ve never heard it you gotta listen to it. Takes you to another place.

  3. LaLuna says:

    Ash,

    Do you happen to have Van’s “Inarticulate Speech of the Heart”? My friends and I would just listen to that thing over and over and over again. I think it came out in the early 80s and was not really in the mainstream at all.

    Rave on, John Donne.

  4. Clikee says:

    Ahh, Van Morrison. “Into the Mystic” one of the greatest, most perfectly written songs…ever!

  5. abbysee says:

    My education, or initiation continues. This is a quite costly, time consuming, but thouroughly enjoyable pastime. Thanks 🙂

  6. Ash. says:

    I’m not sure how he got the numbering on his blog. I would like to do it, but I cannot seem to figure out how. He might have done it with edited HTML, which I cannot do currently.

    Hopefully I can get it straightened out soon. I agree 100% that the feature is helpful.

  7. janibeth says:

    I’m loving this discussion and downloading and learning and soaking it all up.

    One question…I’m new to this blogging business, and I’m wondering why the comments here have no numbers associated with them. I got accustomed to that at GC and I kinda miss it here…in case I want to note a comment for future reference, etc. Is numbering a usual or unusual thing?

    Thanks for everything.

  8. An ex-girlfriend of mine was a groupie in the sixties and dated Jeff Beck for awhile. She said Van Morrison was chasing her and wrote Brown Eyed-Girl for her. I don’t know how try that is, but she’s not a liar. She does have pictures of her hanging out with a lot of the top British talent back then. So I believe she was there. (yes, she is older than me, but I dated her in the 80s when she was in her 40s.)

    Did you guys check put that link I posed on GC a while back of Van Morrison songs he wrote to get out of a contract. They are amusing.

    http://blog.wfmu.org/freeform/2005/09/van_morrisons_c.html

  9. Jan says:

    It’s so funny that I just gave Van’s songs my own names. Streetlight Promenade is Moonshine Whiskey. Funny. Guess my friend has that. From Astral Weeks…I love Beside You and the whole CD. I love the Tupelo Honey CD and well every one I have. I haven’t bought his latest yet but I will soon. From Tupelo Honey (I have the actual names instead of the assumed ones):
    You’re my woman
    Moonshine Whiskey
    When that evening sun goes down
    I Wanna Roo You – Funny, I’ve trying to figure out what the heck he was saying for days. I heard Roo but saw Rue which is not good and made no sense in this context.

    Tupelo Honey of course but really every single song on his first 3 CDs and actually every single song on all 6 of the CDs I have. I just heard Van singing Summertime yesterday. awesome. awesome.

  10. Jan says:

    I love Van Morrison. I am listening to 6 of his CDs currently in my car and I brought Tupelo Honey in tonight so that I can send Streetlight Promenade to a friend. I love the Bang Sessions. The problem with artists like Van is that you hear what is played on the radio but you don’t hear what isn’t and it’s all great.

  11. LAGirl says:

    Thanks Ash. Great music, great musicians, great times.

  12. carolina says:

    Zowie – Van and Anthony – both treasures!

    Thanks Ash!

  13. Oh crap, going to buy Hamiltons album tomorrow and now I hafta add Astral Weeks? Sigh, you guys are killin me.

  14. Ash. says:

    That is a GREAT Al Green story, Mama Feelgood. I love stories like that.

  15. Girasol says:

    One of my all-time favorite albums!! I just listened to it the other day. Does anyone have a favorite theory about what “Madame George” is about?

    Also, the Waterboys have a nice version of “Sweet Thing” on their Fisherman’s Blues CD. Ash, you rock!

  16. Mama Feelgood says:

    Oh, yeah. I DID pay him back.

  17. Mama Feelgood says:

    If Astral Weeks isn’t in your music collection, you don’t have a music collection.

    Gray’s offer to refund the money reminded me of how I heard Al Green for the first time. In college I used to hang out at a used record store so much that one of the clerks got to know what I liked and would save any blues or soul that came in until I got first dibs on it. One day, I walked in and he whispered to me that he had Al Green under the counter. It was the mid-seventies, but I wasn’t paying any attention to what was on the radio then, hadn’t in years, and had to ask who Al Green was. I think I broke the guy’s heart, but he immediately bought the album himself, handed it to me and told me I could pay him back as soon as I came to my senses.

    It’s been quite awhile since I ran into people that passionate about music. Long time coming.

  18. Luzi(Vikki) says:

    I love Van Morrison! Just preordered”Pay the Devil” am gonna add this one to my order…….I had not checked out yet …Good thing I stopped by here first. 🙂 Thanks Ash!

  19. double d says:

    VAN the MAN! Awesome, just awesome. I’m betting dollars to doughnuts that VAN is on Taylor’s album…..WOO!

  20. Chris (MacTwig) says:

    Thanks, Ash!!!!

    I’ve been listening to Van on a cassette player and they’re deteriorating rapidy. This will give me a start on replenishing my music.

    I saw him in concert here maybe about 8 years ago. What a concert. I think he sang everything he ever wrote. Needless to say, it was a loooong night since most of his songs are over 5 minutes long.

  21. JaxNative says:

    Tahnks Ash!! Awesome!
    Will buy it tomorrow!

  22. Ash. says:

    It’s in my top 5. One of the best records ever released in the history of music, in my opinion.

    I love how you told me to upload them, and now you’re telling people not to bother downloading, GC. I agree, go buy it!

    I just didn’t want to deprive the po’ folks of some incredible listening material.

  23. Gray Charles says:

    I listened to this shit in the dark with my friends in college ALL THE TIME. Holy F*ing mother of god. Astral Weeks is one of my top 10 of all time.

    Don’t bother downloading these songs (although thanks to Ash for putting them there). Just go but it now.

    I will personally refund your money if you don’t love this.

  24. Piper says:

    Thanks for this Ash!

Leave a Reply

