Gray Charles and Taylor Hicks Interview parts 2-5 are up.

If you haven't read them, get over there a.s.a.p.. We know what happened yesterday….

39 Responses to Gray Charles and Taylor Hicks Interview parts 2-5 are up.

  1. Luzi(Vikki) says:

    Jan …..Thank you for the Pandora link……I am enjoying it!

  2. Ash. says:

    Thank you so much, James Hudnall.

  3. Phile says:

    Spot *bleeping* on.

    Thanks so much.

  4. Pamela says:

    Part 7 is my favorite segment so far — his talk about his upcoming album and future collaborations is heightening my hopes for the inevitable change about to come.

    And i love what he said about American Idol. I definitely agree. AI may be packaged the way it is, but the bottom line is, it’s definitely helping people. Musicians and Viewers alike. It’s definitely getting there. I hope they continue raising the bar.

    Thanks GC!! Thanks Ash for having this site available for GC to post *winkwink* LOL

    GC, hope you continue posting here during your hiatus 🙂

  5. Colleen says:

    Yes Thanks Gray for coming here and posting. I’m thrilled for you. I hope he’ll be able to call you more to just shot the breeze.

    Who knew at midnight, east coast would still be this busy!!

  6. Pamela says:

    GRAY!!!! you’re here!! (adds to my happiness)

    Thank you for posting!!

    GC: (one more small segment and then a final wrap from me)

    …beginning of the end?? chest beginning to hurt. dang, we’ll miss you man. we love you you know. thank you for being our friend. please give our love to your family. 🙂

    Much love,

    Pam 🙂

  7. Gray Charles says:

    Part 7

    So now we’re pretty up to date on the past and it’s time to talk about the present. “How in the world are you dealing with all of this?”

    Taylor, “I was fairly prepared for what I thought might happen but it just seemed to keep coming at me. Wave after wave of things, first the press tour, then People Magazine, the Ford Commercial and then the Billboard thing. Wave after wave after wave of information was hitting me but it seems to have subsided for now. I’m glad the waves are over so that I can get into my album, get onto the road and just be Taylor Hicks.”

    Naturally, I follow-up with the question, “So tell me about the album then” leaving Taylor with an open-ended question and hoping he’ll run with it. For the first time this evening Taylor keeps it close to the chest.

    “I think it’s going to be really amazing,” Taylor says, “some great folks have stepped up and said that they’d like to work with me on this. Some really amazing collaborations are in the works, a few aren’t solid yet so I’m not ready to talk about them. I’ve been so out in the open for so many months that I’d like to keep some secrets here, I’d like people to be surprised. It’s going to be my music done the way I want to do it but within that framework I’m open to anything.”

    I ask, “Will you re-record something from ‘Under The Radar’ or ‘In Your Time’?” Taylor responds, “Anything is possible, nothing is final yet. I’m writing songs, I’ve got some great ideas. It’s still in the early stages but I’m really satisfied with the direction things are going in right now. I’m looking forward to being the artist, the guy who writes the music, the guy who collaborates with others, plays, writes and performs. I want to be that guy. Open up your eyes, open up your ears, that’s my goal as a musician.”

    We circle back to American Idol and the bigger picture of Taylor’s involvement, both from the business and the music perspective.

    Taylor acknowledges, “There is tons of pressure on me musically. Yes, I ‘Danced with the Devil’ of American Idol. My fans are pretty keen about that. The “Pay The Devil” hat was exactly what you thought it was.”

    Taylor reveals that he was at the Van Morrison show at the Wiltern theater in Los Angeles on March 4th of this year – he picked up the hat at that show.

    Still, it’s clear that Taylor has grown to respect American Idol for quite a few aspects of the multi-faceted Beelzebub.

    Taylor says, “If it wasn’t for American Idol opening up their cameras I wouldn’t be talking to you. The show is powerful, it is the dancing with the devil but it can also create positive reinforcements for society. The show features real music, music that can be appreciated across generations, music that mothers and daughters can agree on. It showcases music and performers that can brings families together. It’s a music lesson, wildly popular and wildly positive.

    It’s amazing that you can entertain a six or seven year old kid and open them up to artists like Sam Cooke and ‘You Send Me’. The show can be the greatest music lesson in 30 years if people approach it correctly. Part of the reason American Idol is so popular is that it helps replace things that for whatever reason is missing in today’s culture. It has the capability of being a shared music lesson among families.

    I’m VERY grateful to have been given this opportunity. I can teach kids about music. The “Devil” is on the business side.”

    I’m cognizant enough not to ask for the details of any “business deal” but I do ask “Do you feel constricted in any way, artistically or otherwise, by the deal you have?”

    Taylor muses a bit and then says, “All in all it’s a pretty fair handshake. They are providing me with some great opportunities, opportunities I wouldn’t have had otherwise. The bottom line for me, and the one I was most concerned about, was the music. The music is the bottom line for me.”

    To be continued . . . (one more small segment and then a final wrap from me)

  8. Pamela says:

    Gooood morning everyone!!! (from Asia anyway!) what time is it there? How’s your birthday going Ash? Any birthday wishes?? 🙂

    I guess GC’s site is a bit full now, can’t get through to it! LOL I am soo happy!! A copy of Under The Radar appeared at my doorstep today!! My cousin in San Francisco got me one!! Wooo!!! Never ever thought I’d get a copy here in the Philippines!!! Happy happy joy joy!!!

    Nice to see you Jan!! 🙂 Glad you got to take a break! How’s SPR??

    Missing all of you! Here’s a big hugggggggggg!!!!

    Much love,

    Pam 🙂

  9. c4tay says:

    Doesn’t seem right that you’re gifting us so much on your special bday. Hope it’s a happy one and sorry I’m so late in getting here today. All the best!

  10. diamondfire says:

    Ash! Happy Birthday!

    As my father always sang as a follow up to the happy birthday song, “May you live many years, may you drink many beers, get plastered you bast*rd, happy birthday to you” He cleaned that up be replacing the b word with bad boy/girl once the grandkids came along!

  11. Ash. says:

    I LOVE the drive-by truckers. Live- It depends on the show. but recorded I love them, I own Dirty South, Decoration Day and two others. I actually have Drive-By Truckers on my lengthy list of Artists to write up. Funny you should mention them, Jan.

  12. ms.sonny says:

    Happy Birthday Ash!

  13. Jan says:

    Happy birthday Ash! I’d call you in person but your number came up as no number! We will celebrate in Florida! I’ve taken a short break for myself this weekend and should be energized tomorrow. Part of my break is reading every GC interview with Taylor.

    You know it’s your birthday….we’re gonna have a good time at the Flora-bama!

    Erinn the Red, hmmmm…let’s get together. I’m thinking you live where I do if I recall correctly.

    Music recommendations? http://www.pandora.com, friends, going into my favorite local record store and just listening to stuff that the staff recommends. I bought Blues and Politics by the Charles Mingus Band that way and it’s awesome. I need to go find it and listen to it now actually.

    Go and see live music. See it. In the last few months I’ve been introduced to new live music by Seth Walker, Michael Fricasa(sp?), and I Can Lick Any Sonofabitch in the House. Name of the band I swear. Haha. I was intrigued by a Drive By Truckers/metal band with a jamming harmonica player. What can I say? I was astonished. I bought 2 CDs. Not my favorites but the show was certainly refreshing. Takes me way back, way, way back to the times when I actually like metal. I still love, love, love the Drive By Truckers.

  14. Julie says:

    What happened yesterday? I’ve been out of computer commission again…

    Happy Friggin Birthday, gal! I will buy you your favorite drink when we meet in Birmingham post-birthday!! A couple of ’em in fact!!

    xoxo
    J.

  15. bamakat says:

    GC has been keeping me busy, but just wanted to drop in to say HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!! I hope this year is the best year yet for you. Live long and prosper.

  16. snoopysoul says:

    Happy Birthday Ash! And thanks for this new “home” for a longtime GC lurker.

  17. Karen says:

    You enjoy being Queen, okay? You’re up there with the BEST!

  18. Chris (MacTwig) says:

    Also … Happy B’day, LostinTexas! Have a great one.

  19. Chris (MacTwig) says:

    Happy Birthday, Ash!!!

    I kept forgetting to come over here and say that. I’ve been going through the interview and comments at GC. That is a like trying to climb Mt. Everest.

    I’m thoroughly enjoying the installments. I can’t wait for part 7 since he left us hanging on 6.

  20. carolina says:

    Happy Happy Birthday Ash!

    and lostintexas too ! – ?

  21. Jannie says:

    Ash, happy birthday and many thanks for the great site and for making us GC refugees feel so welcome.

    I laughed at Aerinphil’s comment re Harry Potter. Prior to Taylor, I hadn’t been so obsessed with anything since the HP #6 book.

    And isn’t Gray’s interview the bomb?!? Great validation for the hard work that people like Gray and Ash have done and confirmation that Taylor truly appreciates his fans, as if we didn’t know that already.

  22. Deb says:

    Happy Birthday Ash. I hope you are enjoying your gifts in installments. Thank you eternally for giving us early birthday presents.

  23. Erinn the Red says:

    Happy Birthday Ash from a noob lurker. I like the site and I look forward to where it will go.

  24. Tee says:

    Happy Birfday to ya…happy birfday to ya…happy birfdaaaaaay!

    Seriously…happy birthday Ash and lostintexas, hope you enjoy you special day! 🙂

  25. katja says:

    Happy Birthday Ash! Happy Birthday lostintexas!
    Or as we say in Finland “Hyvaa syntymapaivaa!”

    (I hope this message gets through…I’ve been having troubles at GC…I don’t know why but my messages just don’t get through…very frustrating…)
    (Trouble, trouble, trouble, oh, worry, worry, worry…)

  26. Ash. says:

    Happy Birthday to you too, lostintexas!

  27. katja says:

    Happy Birthday Ash! Or as we say in Finland: Hyvaa Syntymapaivaa!
    Whoo!

  28. lostintexas says:

    Once again, Happy Birthday Ash. Hope you take some time for yourself and enjoy though I know it is hard not to stay on the computer with all going on.

    Hope you have a great day.

  29. ElvisBabeGoTaylor says:

    Happy Birthday Ash! Still wading thru all your email? I know how that goes.

    Part 5 was great. I am loving Gray’s “Taylor” interview.

  30. CloudNine says:

    Happy Birthday to you . . . Happy Birthday to you . . . Happy Birthday dear Ash . . . Happy Birthday to you . . la la la la.

    Hope your day is as Special as you are !!

  31. Ash. says:

    aerinphil- I'm not telling my age. And nobody else should. 😉

  32. Phile says:

    “BESIDES GC and Ash, where does one get the most reliable music recommendations?”

    Oh my goodness. Great question. One of the great things about here is “instant gratification” – recommendations from folks whose musical tastes I’ve come to trust. I’ll take a listen, and if it’s not my cuppa, I’ll go on. That being said, yes, I’m buying Astral Weeks. And who knows what else, based on what I’ve heard.

    As for the question, hmmm… how sad is it that the only person I can even come up with is Bill Flanagan (?) from CBS Sunday Morning?

    (Happy Birthday, Ash!)

  33. aerinphil says:

    Happy Birthday Ash! how old are you? 🙂

    btw, i sooooo love the interview or shall i say, interaction between GC and TH. it’s so real that i could reach out and touch both of them lol.
    and i feel like i’m waiting for harry potter’s book 7!

  34. StrongandFree says:

    Happy Birthday Ash.

    I know this is probably time consuming for you, so don’t forget to take time out for yourself…. I’d love to see your personal blog keep chugging along… nice visuals, peaceful… good taste.

  35. barfo says:

    uh ok i waz only gone a day and now look im lost again

  36. Pamela says:

    oooh. excited to see THIS post and upcoming thread!

    thanks Basenji and Ash!

  37. Ash. says:

    "BESIDES GC and Ash".

    Flattering that we're mentioned.

    Is it alright with you if I make that topic the topic of the day?
    I'll link to it (that specific post) from here as well.

  38. Basenji says:

    The GC interview made me think about music journalism in general, so I added a new thread in the message boards on this site under Other Music/Best Music Journalism? with the question of, BESIDES GC and Ash, where does one get the most reliable music recommendations?

Leave a Reply

