Two Antony and the Johnsons Videos.

I know Antony and the Johnsons are not going to be most people’s cup of tea.

Antony’s voice is unique, as is his style. He does have the raw passion and emotion in his voice that I know so many of you long for when you hear new music. I do suggest you give them a chance, as I give all the music that is sent to me a chance.

You Are My Sister- Live On David Letterman.

Hope There’s Someone- Live on Jools Holland.

25 Responses to Two Antony and the Johnsons Videos.

  1. NormaJane says:

    Thank you, Ash. I caught Antony and the Johnsons on that Dave Letterman show and promptly bought both his CDs. My grandson was here this weekend and I played some of the songs for him. And now I get
    to see the videos and I could tell him about them, too. Really love this sound. People who love music–love music

  2. Lumi says:

    I’ve listened to this now about 4 times – still not sure if I “like” it – but I find it oddly fascinating. Thanks for this Ash –

  3. Julie says:

    And I LIKE watching him. I don’t think you get the same effect just listening; he has such an expressive and beautiful face it just doesn’t work for me to simply listen.

    I think he’s even more soulful than Alison Moyet, if that’s possible….

  4. Julie says:

    Basenji Says:

    July 7th, 2006 at 12:13 am
    Wow, there’s a person who got the shit beat out of him in high school, but thank god he survived. Awesome stuff. The voice is haunting and makes the hair stand up on my arms. Thanks Ash.

    My sentiments exactly, Basenji. Antony gives me chills, as Ash well knows. There’s something about his music that just cuts through the crap and hits you on a gut level. Wait, that didn’t really come out right…his effect on me is hard to put into words. Like you said, you know that music has been inside him all his life – through the perils of growing up he held on to it. I am so glad he is out there, creating this beautiful and odd music, and I feel lucky to have been introduced to him. I could (and do) watch these over and over…

  5. mariah says:

    Ash, Anthony and the Johnsons are just amazing. The man has an incredibly nuanced voice…….I can’t stop listening.

  6. janibeth says:

    Well…if it weren’t for GC and Ash, think of all the good music I’d be missing! This group is fascinating, and I’d never have known they existed if I didn’t find them here.

    Basinji said: “it’s just now that I’m MORE excited about music than I have been in a long time. Somehow it touches me again.” I feel the same way. For far too many years I’ve been in a wife/mother/librarian/housekeeper/in a rut old lady mode, and the combination of Taylor, GC and Ash have rejuvinated me! Suddenly I’m passionate about something again…and it’s been a long long long time. My older son, who’s the same age as Taylor, was a music major at UGA and an intense music lover, so I watched him enjoy his music passions as he grew up, but I had none of my own….but I DO NOW! And I’m loving it!!

    Thanks for introducing me to Antony and the Johnsons, Ash. I think I’ll be buying some mp3’s later today…another thing I’ve perfected in the past 6 months…bought a Nano, learned to use it, learned to download music on line! Woohoo! The old dog still has some new tricks!

  7. Basenji says:

    Cool…haven’t been back in a long time…

    On topic: quite enjoying the two Antony and the Johnsons albums…

  8. Phoebe says:

    From Highland here. Small world.

  9. Basenji says:

    Uh oh, yeah NY…

  10. Phoebe says:

    Way OT for Basenji – Pine Bush NY?

  11. Basenji says:

    Make that $8.91 plus $9.90. Keep it coming Ash, I’m a woman with a charge card…couldn’t agree more that it is good to hear about diverse people making music. I’ve never been a person who listens to only one genre of music or one artist exclusively; it’s just now that I’m MORE excited about music than I have been in a long time. Somehow it touches me again. I knew a guy in high school who looked like Antony and we would talk talk and talk about what we would do when we got out of Pine Bush and could be around people who would “get” us. Feels a little like that here…

  12. bjewel says:

    Thank you for sharing this with us…they are intriguing, and visions of the surealist painter Leonora Carrington came to my mind as I listened to Antony sing.
    A link to a picture: http://www.amazon.com/gp/reader/1878972197/ref=sib_dp_pt/002-0065727-5580059#reader-link

  13. Ash. says:

    I rather like his lipgloss too. Maybe I will write him and ask where he gets it.

  14. Basenji says:

    My other off the cuff impression (besides, there goes another $8.91 to iTunes) is how cool that Letterman has this music on. I miss America, sheesh.

  15. Ash. says:

    Like I have said before, this blog and board are not just about Taylor, they are about music- and music is diverse, as are the people who make the music. I post what I love, what I am passionate about- and my passions run the gamut.

    I am so very glad to read that some of you enjoyed this.

  16. Phoebe says:

    Ash…I did know that, really, honest. Nevertheless, I love the shade of his lip gloss.

  17. carolina says:

    Wow ~ sniff. He hits home. Bit of an oddball but his lyrics, and band, will carry him home.

    thanks ash

  18. Erinn the Red says:

    I NEVER thought I’d see Antony and the Johnsons on a Taylor board. Wow. Thanks Ash. Unexpected, but wonderful.

  19. Ash. says:

    Phoebe- Antony is a he. 🙂

  20. Phoebe says:

    Is there such a genre as ‘ethereal soul’? Immediately thought of Brian Ferry. Really liked listening to this the first time through, but could not watch him, errr…her. Distracting to watch, not sure why, would have to work up to that. Pay attention to the lyrics though and there seem to be a lot of gender and pain issues weaving through it…Not happy stuff, and I felt like I had to start thinking deeply about it all, and that’s when I stopped responding to the melody and the quality of his voice which is both lovely and startling.

    This is not the only artist that I’ve reacted to this way, where I find I have to first understand and emotionally connect with the lyrics, apart from the music. Assuming it all came together, this would still have a very specific place and time in the ‘music part’ of my life. If that makes any sense at all….

  21. Ash. says:

    Boomerang- “I was lucky enough to see Antony and the Johnsons live in Seattle recently with Devendra Banhart and Coco Rosie”

    Antony & The Johnsons live. amazing- as I’m sure you know it is nearly impossible to explain the intensity, sincerity and passion of their live performances. I know at the show I attended that was not a dry eye in the room. It was one of the most memorable nights of my life so far.

  22. Basenji says:

    Wow, there’s a person who got the shit beat out of him in high school, but thank god he survived. Awesome stuff. The voice is haunting and makes the hair stand up on my arms. Thanks Ash.

  23. boomerang says:

    Ash, Thanks for posting these videos! I was lucky enough to see Antony and the Johnsons live in Seattle recently with Devendra Banhart and Coco Rosie– other singers with soul worth checking out if you enjoy Antony. It was an awesome show. I’ve been reading here since the beginning but this is my first time posting. Just want to say how I much appreciate your website and all the great artists you’ve introduced me to. I share your love of music, modern architecture, small spaces, design in general and, jeesh, the picture of your dinner looked like something I might have cooked for myself. (Are you my sister?) You surely ARE the boogie.

  24. Phile says:

    Yup. Definitely reminds me of Alison Moyet. And that’s a *good* thing.

    Thanks yet again for the intel. I like it a lot.

  25. Jan says:

    On the second viewing of You are my sister, I cried. I need to go out and buy this music!

Leave a Reply

