Brian of THF gets his first interview.

Brian of TaylorHicksFan had his first Taylor interview today!

You can go here if you would like to hear the interview and send Brian your congrats.

If you cannot view and listen there, you can download the audio here.

Thanks to Dana for letting me know and to a friend for hosting the audio.

96 Responses to Brian of THF gets his first interview.

  1. Jan B. says:

    Didn’t know where to post this, but this thread seems pretty active…
    HELP! I’m frustrated! I can’t get ANY of the videos to play through. Is it because I have dial-up? I get a constant stop action/ start action/ stop action throughout. ..doesn’t matter the source. I WAS able to view the WMV videos at GC, but there were only two or three of them. I’m aching for some Tay and am very jealous. Can anyone clue me in? I’m SO low tech!!!

  2. A. says:

    I don’t know? Who are they?

    whoo could it be noow?

  3. Julie says:

    Who’s A.?

    😉

  4. A. says:

    Note::

    If you think something is off topic, more than likely it is. If you aren’t sure, check with me.

    Please post off topic links on the forum. Thanks!

  5. idolAddict_NW says:

    VIDEO ALERT!

    MJ has a bunch more downloadable vids available from all 3 nights of the tour so far, including some LARGE files. I’m hoping the quality is nice. Downloading now. She also has some pictures. mjsbigblog dot com.

    By the way, if you haven’t read folkgirl’s recap of last night’s show that’s posted on the main page, you MUST. It’s amazing.

  6. krusty says:

    Hey Look. Woo Dust is all mine, baby! But I’m open to the idea of selling it. And I bet we’re gonna have to pay Taylor some royalities on that, being as it’s his Dust and all. Maybe we could somehow sneek some and sell it on ebay…

  7. Phile says:

    Just wanted to add my “Yay Brian!”

    And I’m looking forward to taking a look at all this stuff… yippee!

    Between the Woo Dust (TM), updated school song, “Taylor Hicks as Dr. Evil,” etc., my cubemates think I’m nuts for laughing at (seemingly) nothing.

    Thank you again :).

  8. Dana says:

    Welcome Julie. This is off topic from Brian’s interview with Taylor, but I just rediscovered an earlier interview with Taylor with Fox News from the day after he won, and it was interesting to see this again now after Gray Charles’ interview because even here, back then, Taylor makes a specific mention/gives an indication of how his choices on AI were pre-meditated. Thought others might enjoy seeing it again in light of recent discussion after Gray’s interview.

    http://www.foxnews.com/video2/player05.html?052506/052506_straka_hicks&The_Real_Deal&The%20Real%20Deal%20w/Mike%20Straka&acc&American%20Idol&-1&exp

    But Ash if it’s too off topic or you don’t want it here, please delete and my apologies.

  9. Julie says:

    Thanks Daba

  10. Dana says:

    Julie, what’s goin on from last night I believe is up on go fish, not sure what/how’s it’s labeled but it’s from MJ and so is linked to MJ’s Blog now. Home page.

  11. Julie says:

    Hicks…sorry…

  12. Julie says:

    Where the hell is ‘What’s Goin On’? I can’t find it…HELP!!!

    DuLaRay Says:

    July 7th, 2006 at 11:19 pm
    ‘I have to add this, this is the school song for Taylor Hicks Elementary School: It’s called “Stand Up for Taylor Hicks”

    Stand up for Taylor Hicks
    Someone in the crowd is cheering
    Stand up for Taylor Hicks
    Our loyalty is everlasting
    We’re the kids you can’t hold back
    Bobcats all show red and black
    We’re proud of all we’ve done
    We’re number one!

    I wonder if we could just change “Bob cats” to “Soul Patrol” and like nick this song. I wonder what the tune is to it?’

    DuLaRay…this is so funny! You’ve been googling “Taylor Hick” haven’t you??? 🙂

  13. sasgeorgia says:

    OK – who wants to get rich with me selling “Woo Dust” online? We could retire by next year. 😉

  14. Dana says:

    I agree IdolAddict. I did like this July 7th video/version of DIMYP SO much better than opening night. It cracks me up the little thing/way he always holds his left hand out on the beginning of that song, but I am so glad he at least doesn’t raise it during that line, LOL. And I love that center door exit, I can’t help it, it makes me think of Dr. Evil’s lair/door in Austin Powers LOL.

    Oh kinda off topic, but I just that Elliott and Chris duet of Savin’ Me by Nickelback for the first time, and I admit I was unsure when I heard of Chris/Elliott duet, but damn, it is AMAZING. Just amazing. Margaux if you read this, I’d love to hear what it sounded like live. You can PM me.

    And I know we were discussing the other day what/if Taylor would be talking to people about what was working or not and make any changes. I have heard rumors Elliott is going to be changing out his Luther Vandross song and Kellie will keep Bohemian Rhapsody in now instead, so I wonder if Taylor’s considering any changes or will have to make some regardless once Katharine returns. I just can’t see Taylor and Katharine dueting on any of his current songs on the tour.

  15. Sherry L says:

    I liked Taylor’s What’s Goin’ On. There’s really not much to the song, so it’s definitely open for reinterpretation. It’s more of a groove and feeling song, so it’s cool the way Taylor – “Taylorized” it.

    I really like the breakdown he does on Livin’ For The City. I like the way he is always coming up with new arrangements.

  16. idolAddict_NW says:

    Dana: “What’s Going On”. It’s good, definitely “Taylorized”. Not my favorite of the set. Think I would have liked just a slightly more “straight up” version of the vocals — that is a bit closer to the original lyrics and melody line. I felt this way also on “Hollywood Nights”, that he changed the melody line a bit TOO much, but that one is growing on me after seeing the video of it.

  17. krusty says:

    OCTHD….ROFL!

    I looked for WGO in Go Fish and couldn’t find it. This time I’m afraid I’ll have to blame me and not the computer 🙂

  18. Dana says:

    What did everyone think of “What’s Going On”? I didn’t see many comments on that one. I liked it. Does anyone remember Cyndi Lauper’s cover of it from her True Colors CD? I’d love to hear her and Taylor duet on this, if I recal correctly, I liked Cyndi’s arrangement slightly better.

    And dang, MJ apparently has really good seats at the concerts LOL. In what’s Going On I felt like she/he was on the stage with him!!!

  19. Phandi says:

    Obsessive Compulsive Taylor Hicks Disorder.
    What we’ve all got…and it’s spreading!

  20. Phandi says:

    Heheheheh “Woo-Dust”. I love it.
    BTW, have you heard of OCTHD?

  21. krusty says:

    You know, we should probably send that Newsday writer a note–wasn’t it Jamie Foxx who already channeled Ray Charles? Or can a spirit be channeled by multiple people at the same time? LOL

    Ah yes, the writer has not yet been Taylorized with the “Full Woo”. Maybe with the Jamie Foxx note we can include a bottle of Taylor Woo-Dust…

  22. Phandi says:

    Yeah, I thought that was pretty good, for a “disinterested” reading of our guy. That’s the kind of comparison that crossed my mind too, before I was taylorized by the “full woo”. Cuz it totally leaves out his own soul interpretations, his charisma, that pure infectious joy…the Newsday review keeps Taylor in the same sort of category as the others, just a different style, i.e. relating him to today’s pop scene, when actually he is, I think, going about re-defining popular, cannot be compared to the other idols atall…stratosphere, oh, yeah.

  23. Crazymomelon says:

    Seems like all of the songs in his set are short. He’s a big tease. Sure would like to see DLMD – full-length with all the words, even the ones at the ends of phrases.
    Call me Crazy.
    I agree, Krusty – apt description. But Taylor is most like, well, Taylor Hicks!

  24. krusty says:

    To quote the Newsday article describing Taylor:

    “Sounds like: A lost Doobie Brother crossed with Joe Cocker channeling Ray Charles”

    I’m sorry but I think that’s hilarious! 🙂

  25. Meg the older says:

    Hey guys -for those of you who went to Brian’s site and are having trouble finding the interview with Taylor; here is what you do. Go to the forum, scroll way down to the Members Only Media, then it is in the audio/vis section pinned.–Enjoy!!

  26. krusty says:

    IdolAddict, in my dreams if I could have been at the show last night! 🙂 Those are just my observations/impressions from watching the video clips. I got sucked into his vortex from my home computer, so I can only imagine what it’s like live. I have 30 (count them thirty) more days–!

    Yes Julie he did sing the short version of LFTC–I wanted it to finish too!

  27. idolAddict_NW says:

    Julie — yeah LFTC is short. I felt like I wanted it to just really get rolling after the tamborine — I wanted another big *singing* verse. I also felt Don’t Let Me Down deserved to be longer.

    I wonder if part of the deal of him getting 8 songs was to do shorter versions of them?

  28. idolAddict_NW says:

    Thanks for clearing that up, Crazymelon. So Kat got top ranking followed by Taylor & Paris. “Odds are” that was written before her recent absences. Anywho, I agree with you. I’ll put a couple of grand on the gray guy.

  29. Julie says:

    Hey pals…is it me or did he sing the short version of LFTC? I seem to remember there being more verses. This sounds like the AI abbreviated version.

  30. Crazymomelon says:

    My money’s on Taylor. This window, please.

  31. Crazymomelon says:

    1:1 is even money. 2:1 pays $2 for every $1 spent. 1:2 pays $.50 on a dollar.

  32. Karen says:

    krusty – “sucked into his vortex”

    Yeah…that! Great way to describe it!

  33. Crazymomelon says:

    1:2 is better than 1:1.

  34. idolAddict_NW says:

    Phandi: I don’t know much about ranking myself, but from the actual copy it seemed Taylor and Paris’ 1:1 were top honors. The copy for Kat wasn’t all that flattering. Maybe someone who’s better with betting odds can answer.

  35. Ms Ei says:

    Congratulations Brian!

    And Ash, you’ll be next! 🙂

  36. Phandi says:

    idolAddict…not sure if I’m reading the odds correctly, but I think the top ranking went to Kat? Isn’t 1:2 better than 1:1? (Compare Ace’s 50:1, ouch!)

  37. idolAddict_NW says:

    Good morning! Here’s another press link I don’t see posted here. Newsday gives odds on future success for each idol. Taylor and Paris get the top ranking, 1-1.

    http://www.newsday.com/entertainment/ny-etidol-sg,0,4979711.storygallery?coll=ny-entertainment-headlines

    Krusty — did you go to the show last night? Did you post a recap?

  38. double d says:

    Kirsten – Pascagoula is about 25 miles from Mobile. I’m sure that Taylor has played the MS Gulf Coast area…This is just my speculation, but the lyric says “Our boy is born in hard time Mississippi”…I think he’s just Taylorizing the song by putting in cities….I could also be that Pascagoula was hard hit by Hurricane Katrina….maybe someone he knows from Pascagoula was there…or it could be that it’s a funky, cruddy city…dunno.

    But, I do think he’ll do more of this, like, Biloxi, Pass Christian, Long Beach, Gulfport, Jackson, etc. I think he likes to improvise lyrics to the familiar. Not sure why Pascagoula in Worchester, but I loved it.

    I could just see that expression from the audition, but the phrase turned a little….”I don’t think these people know what Pascagoula, MS is”…..

  39. Basenji says:

    Disturbing news from the world outside this website:
    Just spoke to some relations in the DC area on the phone. They of course teased me about Taylor Hicks (because I wrote a family gram about him), then there was some confusion and consultation on the other end among people, “No no, the one who won, you know, the gray haired one” and then, this shocking, shocking question: “Yea, so what’s that guy doing NOW?”

    ???

    Sorry had to report it. Very disturbing. Must rewatch “find that groove” a few more times to settle myself.

  40. Kirsten says:

    double d, I caught the Pascagoula shout out, but do you have any idea why Pascagoula?

  41. double d says:

    Basenji — I Lerved this! Did everyone catch the “Our boy is born in hard town Pascagoula, Mississippi”? A little shout out there — WOO!

    I love that he is really exposing these crowds to “different” performances and not just some regergitated version of the same song over and over. I think that this is what really sets Taylor apart from the others, not that they’re not good…it’s just that he’s so much better at performing live.

    I cannot wait until his solo concerts next year!

  42. katja says:

    Krysty,
    that doesn’t sound weird at all!!!

  43. AliceinWonderland says:

    Basenji wrote:
    “Living for the City: WOO! Now that’s a @#$%*&@ performance!”

    What strikes me most is just how damn happy he looks! And that makes ME happy. Ah, the magic of our boy Taylor. Makin’ it do what it do.

    I’m having a blast watching all these vids. Thanks to all involved for bringing them to us. 🙂

  44. Chris (MacTwig) says:

    Margaux, I wondered the same thing. Sounds like they got a playlist (Taylor said he had duet(s) in the GC interview) pre-Kat no show. It just leaves you wondering if these reporters really saw the show.

    I’m curious about the ‘sexual suggestiveness’ – I wonder if they’re referring to Paris booty shake and Kelly’s duet with Bucky + Walkin in Memphis.

    In the Telegram article the reporter says they performed in the order they were voted off … um, no.

  45. krusty says:

    This is going to sound really weird, but my favorite TAylor moments are when he has an instrument and is just flat out immersed in the groove with the band. The joy on his face is beyond description. The audience gets sucked into his vortex and screams with euphoric delight. I pray he never loses that contagious joyous spirit. What a gift! 🙂

  46. Margaux says:

    The Worcester Telegram has a nice review of last night’s show – Taylor is “wildly engaging” and alternates between “crazily whacking his body over and over with a tambourine one minute, and the next singing so tenderly it probably could make the famously acerbic Idol judge Simon Cowell cry.”

    http://www.telegram.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20060708/NEWS/607080364&SearchID=73250025300353

  47. Margaux says:

    The videos with the dark jacket and light blue shirt must be from last night in Worcester. Thank you for all the links, what a nice thing to wake up to!

  48. SpaceOddity says:

    LOL, how awesome is that?! You did a great job, Brian! I would’ve just held the phone, dumbstruck, with Taylor on the other end going, “…Hello? Hello? Anyone there?” *G*

  49. MollyK says:

    Sweet that we got the whole audio of the interview. Thanks, Brian. I thought he did a great job. I can yap all I want, but I wouldn’t be able to cope with the pressure.

    Thanks for the vids as well, everyone.

  50. idolAddict_NW says:

    Basenji and Shandykat – I saw a vid of the opening night LFTC and I have to say, the second night was definiltey much better! I loved the “find a groove” thing too. How cool/hot/Taylor was that?

    I wish he’d finish a damn song, though! It felt like after the tamborine he should have continued with the vocals and sang the rest of the song. Felt a bit truncated. I wonder if they’re doing that for time of if it’s artistic choice? Come on, Taylor — we want it ALL! 🙂

    So happy we are getting all this great footage.

  51. idolAddict_NW says:

    CJ: Thank you for the link to my fox Boston! It was a very nice, positive piece and had a cute Taylor interview. Thank you! 🙂 Nice to see some news coverage beginning.

  52. Shandykat says:

    ^LOL…um, yeah. His performance is what moved me too. yep. Gotta love the…singing.

    Man, he just keeps getting better and better! He was better tonight than he was two nights ago! He’s looking more relaxed and into the groove with his soul thing! Say YEAH!

  53. Basenji says:

    Living for the City: WOO! Now that’s a @#$%*&@ performance! Bit where he says “Find the groove, find that groove because it ain’t nothing but a soul thing” and shakes his fine self to the beat while making passionate squinchy faces…oh god I slid down in my chair and gasped…Or rather, I was quite entertained by his compelling performance.
    http://www.gofish.com/userVideoPlayer.gfp?gfid=30-1040706

  54. daphne says:

    congratulations BRIAN! well done! am so happy for you!

    thanks idolAddict_NW for the video link. it is much appreciated.

  55. sasgeorgia says:

    Ditto from above – wanted to let y’all know there are now new concert videos on http://www.gofish.com : “What’s Goin On” and “Livin for the City” [can’t tell which night]

  56. DuLaRay says:

    I have to add this, this is the school song for Taylor Hicks Elementary School: It’s called “Stand Up for Taylor Hicks”

    Stand up for Taylor Hicks
    Someone in the crowd is cheering
    Stand up for Taylor Hicks
    Our loyalty is everlasting
    We’re the kids you can’t hold back
    Bobcats all show red and black
    We’re proud of all we’ve done
    We’re number one!

    I wonder if we could just change “Bob cats” to “Soul Patrol” and like nick this song. I wonder what the tune is to it?

  57. DuLaRay says:

    I am still trying to get in to check out the interview. Maybe I can figure out how to get in tomorrow. Anyway, This has nothing to do with this interview, but as I was goofing off at work today, cruising Taylor sites I discovered that there is a Taylor Hicks Elementary School (home of the BobCats, no less) in Prescott Arizonia. Did anyone else see this? How cool is that???

  58. Kim(DogDoc) says:

    Good job Brian. So far he’s had only two men interview him. We need a woman’s interview. Maybe you’ll be next Ash.

    ( I would love to hear a VFTW interview. Those guys crack me up. )

  59. jena says:

    Brian, DUDE, major props to you for not saying “I LOVE YOU MAN!” ’cause I know you wanted to!

    Very charming.

  60. BigTayFan says:

    Hey BigTayFan, that was actually the computer before I could mute it, sorry.

    Thanks for the response Brian.

  61. double d says:

    Good for you, Brian! YEAH!

    Ash. You’re next!

    Bigger and better.

    dd

  62. Chris (MacTwig) says:

    Brian Says:
    July 7th, 2006 at 8:29 pm
    Hey BigTayFan, that was actually the computer before I could mute it, sorry.


    Brian, I thought it was MY computer at first. That’s what would happen to me if Taylor called. I have no clue what I would ask him if he suddenly called. Most likely, ‘How’s the weather there?’

  63. pc325 says:

    That was great Brian. And very cool of Taylor to keep in touch!

  64. Congratulations, Brian! I just listened and loved what Taylor said about the troops, “They play a big part in our freedom.”

  65. Cali50 says:

    Thanks Brian, great job! It was actually cute to see you so star struck. It was nice to hear him talk about the solo tour.Me thinks our man is very anxious to get out and do 100% his own thing!

  66. EJ says:

    Congrats Brian! Your “Taylor jitters” reminded me of myself in similar situations. Just breathe…. and ask him anything about the music! Can’t wait for your next one!

  67. JazzLeavesHerNumber says:

    Well done, Brian! Thanks for going out and getting that interview for us. Looking forward to many more.

    Ash, if you build it (and you most assuredly have), HE will call! 🙂

  68. Historia says:

    Congrats Brian! Good job on such short notice. Looking forward to hearing more!

  69. TayTorTot says:

    Way to go Brian! What an honor for the “The Man” to call! Taking the time to let US know he is thinking of US as well.

  70. Brian says:

    Hey BigTayFan, that was actually the computer before I could mute it, sorry.

  71. BigTayFan says:

    Congrat’s Brian! What’s with the knocking & the door slamming in the background? Was that your room or was that on Taylor’s end.

    Just curious.

  72. catwood720 says:

    Congrats Brian!

  73. Basenji says:

    Just when I don’t think I can love Taylor with any more intensity, he calls more fansites and indulges us. He just makes my hard heart get all squooshy.

  74. JT says:

    Hey…hoping you guys will check out a local band I know and love….their story is quite similar to Taylor’s in that the lead singer just loves performing and won’t give up his dream….great performer live….

    http://www.drivethegetawaycar.com
    http://www.orangepopsongs.com

    P.S. Anyone have a couple extra Richmond tickets? 🙂

  75. AnotherTaylorFan says:

    Brian was much more coherent than I would have been. My first and only question would have been, “Uhhh…. ummmmm…. duhhhhh… And thank you, Taylor for calling.”

  76. Robin4T says:

    Ah, it was cute. You know that has to be a overwhelming for a big fan like Brian. Taylor is such a sweet guy. Just tries to go with the flow and be accomodating. Congrats to Brian and taylorhicksfan dot com.

    Thanks for sharing this, Ash. I bet you’ll get your chance.

  77. Hannah says:

    Ash, many posts on here make me laugh! ex people getting lost in a maze of links! – But as for you and hpoing for an interview. You have taken on all of Grays displaced/ homeless persons and for that gift alone that you gave to us, I believe you will find yourself talking with our Tay.It was really an upset for many- Gray’s end and you have been so very gracious and present and really welcoming to so many that came with a tear in their eyes.

  78. Brian says:

    Yes we will have much better questions next time. We didn’t expect the interview for another 4 hours, but hey, when Taylor calls, you pick up and I just went with the flow, but I promise the future ones will be better questions and better quality 🙂

  79. Ash. says:

    Thank you for your support, Brian! And, once again, Congrats on the interview! I bet it made your day.

  80. Robin4T says:

    Found it. Never mind……

  81. Chris (MacTwig) says:

    Brian’s interview was cute … a star struck fanboy moment. 🙂 Congrats to Brian and hope you have your questions ready for the next time.

    Ash, I’m telling you now … please don’t ask him what was the weirdest thing a fan gave him or who was the strangest fan he’s met. Oh, and no boxer vs briefs questions either. We can read the label.

  82. Robin4T says:

    I cannot find the interview over there. I’ve registered. I’ve tried following Phoebe’s directions. Someone please help an obvious idiot here.

  83. Julie says:

    Keep droppin hints to the great big world out there and not only will you get your interview but more than likely some contributions and a date too!

    I think we’re beginning to see how important this site is to you and your personal goals. Dream on…you’ll make it…

  84. Brian says:

    I meant *go …. sorry I typed to fast… that is what I get for doing too many things at once 😦

  85. Brian says:

    Ash keep doing what you are doing, good things going to people that do good things and what you are doing here is GREAT!

  86. Phoebe says:

    Ash, you’re breaking my heart. I’m sure you’ll be rewarded for taking on all of this stuff, much of it just plain silly. Hold on girl, it’s gonna happen.

  87. Ash. says:

    GC had a great shot, and did an amazing job with the interview as we all know- but I’m still so happy for Brian.

    I wonder if I’ll ever get a shot? Hey, this woman can dream.
    I would love to interview him once the American Idol Tour is over (or before then is fine as well, of course).

  88. MollyK says:

    Before even reading it, I’m gonna totally ignore how Brian got 5 minutes compared to GC because that’s just the kind of person I am. Hahahaha. Sorry. I ain’t right.

  89. Phoebe says:

    That would be the Main Page of the Tayllor Hicks Fan Forum.

  90. Phoebe says:

    OK, I found it guys. On the main page, scroll down to “members only” section, and click on “Menbers Only Media”, then “Video/Audio” to “I got an Interview”

  91. Phoebe says:

    If it has to do with that RADIO feature, i’ve followed instructions for it but it still won’t work. Just FYI Ash…NOt urgent at all for me.

  92. krusty says:

    Me three

  93. Kathop says:

    Me too!

  94. Phoebe says:

    Not feelin’ the love here…the link takes me there, and I’m even registered, but don’t see any reference to an interview.

Leave a Reply

