Jeff Buckley- Forget Her.

I think I’ll just let the song speak for itself …..

.and a download.

Everybody Here Wants You.

22 Responses to Jeff Buckley- Forget Her.

  1. Jools says:

    it’s quite amazing how influenced he was by his father’s music. You can hear some of the same vibe in his voice. I was a big Tim Buckley fan and met him in the early 70’s when he was doing a westcoast tour – very sad that we lost both of these Buckley’s so young and too early. If you haven’t already, you should also check out Tim’s – Sweet Surrender (for starters) and keep in mind this was recorded 30 years ago. I still listen to it. good music never dies

  2. AliceinWonderland says:

    Thanks for the clip, Ash, it was just what I needed. I’m in a funky mood today, pondering the end of my latest attempt at an adult relationship, and I needed a good cry. This, and the Hallelujah (NPA Live’95) clip on YouTube did me in. Sat here and bawled like a baby. I feel much better now. Thank you. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Kathop says:

    you prove your point!

  4. taylorsfan says:

    just love it…such emotion, thx for all

  5. Sarah says:

    Loving this song, thanks for the vid, Ash. Jeff Buckley was truly haunting and it’s tragic the life of such a soul was cut short.

    His quote is so moving and sad. A feeling I’m sure many ‘famous’ musicians share.

  6. Omphalos says:

    In this situation I have that precious and irreplaceable luxury of failure, of risk, of surrender.

    It’s a great quote, Ash, full of the passion that anything worth doing is worth doing “badly” (ie, rawly well.)

  7. SpaceOddity says:

    Jeff Buckley was amazing. It takes a lot for me to cry, but I actually teared up the first time I heard his cover of “Hallelujah.” He sings like an angel.

  8. A. says:

    The quote is Jeff Buckley, talking about a time when he did a secret Phantom Tour after he became more “famous”.

  9. Omphalos says:

    What’s the quote from, Ash?

    The Buckley vid: it shoook my spiiiine!

    Like the thunk of an axe. I needed that. A little soul-hewing.

  10. mojavedesertgirl says:

    Thanks for that. Went over to YouTube and rooted around for more video – nice, love the voice – very etheral, very effortless. I’m reminded a little bit of a young (but more serious) Todd Rungren. Although I had a little “ah ha” moment hearing about his death by drowning, I totally missed Buckley during his time. (But then I spent most of the 90s listening to either the Indigo Girls, Dave Mathews, or music from Central and South America in attempt to escape nasty pop music things, like the Spice Girls.) His music is perfect for dark rooms, listening by candle light.

  11. A. says:

    There was a time in my life not too long ago when I could show up in a cafe and simply do what I do, make music, learn from performing my music, explore what it means to me, i.e., have fun while I irritate and/or entertain an audience who don’t know me or what I am about. In this situation I have that precious and irreplaceable luxury of failure, of risk, of surrender. I worked very hard to get this kind of thing together, this work forum. I loved it and then I missed it when it disappeared. All I am doing is reclaiming it.

  12. LAGirl says:

    Rips at the heart. The pain is palpable. Amazing.

  13. Phoebe says:

    Senseless death, doesn’t seem like 9 years already.

    That song could thaw event the coldest heart.

    An excerpt from a Rolling Stone magazine review of his debut (11/3/1994):

    “…. got huge ears and an even bigger record collection: He jumbles jazz, R&B, blues and rock references with such apparent nonchalance that he can seem like a showoff. His songs are anything but tossed off, and sometimes his meticulous arrangements sound too orchestrated… But it may just be that movement and texture mean so much…. that he sometimes gets carried away. There are worse sins.”

    Not to take away from Mr. Buckley here, but who else comes to mind when you read that?

  14. Dave says:

    Great music. Thanks for a great site too.

  15. Basenji says:

    Serious and Ash: between the song and the quick clip, that boy just SLAYED me. “Whatever they like…” like here’s my gift to you, have fun…

  16. I guess you and I are on the same vibe tonight. Sorry to jump the gun ;).

  17. hicknic says:

    Very moving, thanks Ash, I had not heard him. Will have to check out more of his music. So sorry to hear he is gone, but thankful he left something of himself behind. Insomniac in OB signing out.

  18. A. says:

    funny, serious. That video was going to be posted here tomorrow, along with another one of music/interview clips.

  19. I wanted to drop my own gift along the same lines. Music can really touch the soul.

  20. bamakat says:

    This is one singer who died much too soon. My favorite version of Hallelujah is by JB. From the first second I heard Jeff’s music at GC I fell in love. I’m so sorry that I’ll never hear Jeff sing his music live. His Grace album is great. This video was a sweet gift this evening.

  21. A. says:

    He’s something else, isn’t he?

  22. Ah I love Jeff. Good song too, I only have the grace album so I havent heard it before. Thanks for the vid ash

Leave a Reply

