Before The Music Dies.

Before The Music Dies is a documentary that looks at and confronts the ways of the music industry today. It has been called “A portrait of the nation that gave the world gospel, blues, jazz, country, bluegrass, rock, and roll, rap, and hip-hop.

.

I encourage you to watch these trailers and to attend a viewing of the film and the live music accompanying the film if the tour comes anywhere near you.

Trailer 1.

Trailer 2.

thank you to the people who reminded me to post about this film.

12 Responses to Before The Music Dies.

  1. Bama Angelfish says:

    I’m so glad you shared this documentary and I will definitely see it. I especially liked what Dave Matthews said that we don’t need to panic but we need to teach our children well. Sites like this one are so important!

  2. Shandykat says:

    Thank you for this! I’m learning so much about music and the business of music from this site. Now that my musical dry spell is over i’m like a sponge here 🙂

    Can’t wait to see this.

  3. goodfeke says:

    wow!! i have to see this doc. I hope it comes to the chicago area or becomes available on demand or on DVD. They took the world right out of my mouth in the trailer. I LMAO at the floating pictures of L.Lohan and H Duff.

  4. lela says:

    interesting note….. in Taylor performance where he is dancing, saying Bill Withers bill withers bill withers. check out bill withers. good soul man from quite a while back.

  5. mojavedesertgirl says:

    Oh no! I got the “your comment is waiting moderation” razzberry – have I been a bad girl Ash? Whatever it was, I sorry! Really, really truly! Please take me out of the penalty box!

  6. mojavedesertgirl says:

    Whoo-hooo let’s hear it for crazy music! That’s what we all are – crazy music lovers!

    Interesting the combination of first reading the article about will Taylor ever make it as a pop star (with all the references about his age, his “rhythmless” dancing, his clothes) and then seeing the two trailers…the folks out there in “the biz” or in things peripheral to the biz seem to want to cram Taylor into the pop star box – while the Soul Patrol supports Taylor for the hope and the promise that his music will be real and timeless…we want to be inspired, not just entertained.

    I’m glad to hear about this, thanks for sharing it…definitely not to be missed.
    And love that Eryka Badu! Butt naked Wednesdays…if that’s for real, I better cut back on the fried turnip greens…

  7. OSB says:

    Not likely to come to my area, but, I’ll definitely purchase the DVD when it releases.

  8. taylorsfan says:

    were can we catch a viewing??? I only see post dates…thanks…

  9. Susie says:

    This doc is music to my ears, thanks for posting.

  10. Erinn the Red says:

    I saw it at SXSW this year and I’ve been promoting it like crazy at Hicksfix.com. I’m so glad you posted this Ash. This really is a great, important documentary for anyone who loves music. I hope it gets the wide release it deserves.

  11. SeriousMelo says:

    This doc looks amazing. And I agree with bama – it is like GC and soul patrol 101. I had no idea this was coming out – thanks for the heads up ash!

  12. bamakat says:

    Before the Music Dies is a doc that I will not miss. The descriptions related to music sounded like GC and the Soul Patrol 101. I bet a copy of the DVD will end up in my collection as soon as it is released. To you and those who reminded you to post this…THANKS!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

