dis & dat.

I’d say it’s about time for another mix.

.

Sonny Terry, Brownie McGhee, Big Bill Broonzy – You’d Better Mind, from the album The Bluesmen.

Willis Jackson- Gator’s Groove, from Atlantic Rhythm And Blues 1947-1974: Volume 1, 1947-1952

Steve Wonder- Sir Duke, from Songs In The Key of Life.

Taj Mahal- Going Up To The Country, Paint My Mailbox Blue, from The Natch’l Blues.

Thelonious Monk- Blue Monk, from Piano Blues (Martin Scorsese presents the blues).

Van Morrison- Moondance, from the album Moondance.

Otis Spann- Good Morning Mr. Blues, from Piano Blues (Martin Scorsese presents the blues).

11 Responses to dis & dat.

  1. LANative says:

    No time to see if this is a redundancy; if someone else has posted it somewhere, well then, I’ll just concur!

    PBS TV is airring an Austin City Lights performance of Jamie Cullum these days; how I’ve missed him is 150% beyond me, except to say I live in a very unenlightened corner of reality these days!

    But, this is a request out to the Universe!

    I want to see a Jamie Cullum/ Jane Monheit concert!

  2. King Proehl says:

    Great stuff. I will have to get them all! πŸ™‚ Thanks for posting.

  3. Quinn says:

    Thanks Ash. Fit my mood today perfectly!

  4. AmyH says:

    Oh Ash! You’re so cool! Several of my favorite songs. “Moondance” is just about the sexiest song out there. Thanks a bunch. πŸ™‚

  5. Bob says:

    Great choice on Monk and Moondance, Ash. I’m not the biggest Van fan but Moondance is one of my favorite all time numbers…..from anyone.

  6. LAGirl says:

    Thanks, Ash. Other than Sir Duke and Moondance, these are totally new to me. It is making for a nice lazy Saturday afternoon mini-concert.

  7. Shelley says:

    Phile…addendum to instructions above.

    Download song…play it on home stereo…crank up volume…sing along.

    Even if your neighbors complain…they’ll probably be humming along while they do it.

    cause…

    THEY CAN FEEL IT ALL OOOOOOOOOVERRRRRRRR!!!!!

  8. Phile says:

    Now *that’s* what I’m talkin’ about!!!

    Okay, I wasn’t really talking about it. Just silently hoping. πŸ™‚ Thank you!

    I downloaded Sir Duke first of course, and plan to listen to it as soon as I get home. Is it okay if I just leave my apartment door open as I sing along?

    Definitely looking forward to all of these – Mr. Monk was #2, as well as upcoming posts (did I read neo-soul/jazz? :D).

  9. A. says:

    I’m glad you guys like it.

    It’s totally a feel-good and sing-along song. I can’t hear it and stay completely silent and completely still. It just doesn’t work that way. πŸ™‚

  10. Shelley says:

    Sir Duke is perhaps the best pop song ever.

    I can’t imagine anyone listening to it and NOT immediately getting out of of whatever funk they’re in.

    If anyone downloads Sir Duke…you must promise me you’ll put it in your mp3 player…then hop in your car….roll your windows down…crank up the engine…hit play…turn the volume all the way up…and drive around town singing this song.

    I promise you’ll be right with the world if you do this. πŸ˜‰

    (Plus…since you’re windows will be down and your volume up…I’ll bet others will join in singing.)

  11. Claire says:

    Ooooh, Ash, thanks for Stevie Wonder’s song!!! Iabsolutely LOVE SIR Duke, it doesn’t matter how foul my mood is, that song makes me smile, and get up and day-ance!!! I’m la-la-la-ing along to it as I type. Happy now. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

