Son House- “Death Letter”

9 Responses to Son House- “Death Letter”

  1. Omphalos says:

    Thanks, Ash. I look forward to that post.

  2. A. says:

    I’m under the impression that the footage was recorded in the early 1960’s, but I could be mistaken.

    As for more information- I plan on posting a write-up on him complete with mp3s and possibly more video on Monday.

  3. Omphalos says:

    Wow. Do you know when it was filmed, Ash? What more can you tell us about him?

  4. A. says:

    I know………..

  5. Basenji says:

    Yea well you started it…

  6. A. says:

    Basenji: Your comment just made me cry.

  7. Basenji says:

    I got a letter this mornin, how do you reckon it read?
    It said, “Hurry, hurry, yeah, your love is dead”
    I got a letter this mornin, I say how do you reckon it read?
    You know, it said, “Hurry, hurry, how come the gal you love is dead?”
    ………………….
    Looked like there was 10,000 people standin’ round the buryin’ ground
    I didn’t know I loved her ’til they laid her down
    Looked like 10,000 were standin’ round the buryin’ ground
    You know I didn’t know I loved her ’til they damn laid her down
    ………………….
    Got up this mornin’, feelin’ round for my shoes
    You know, I must-a had them old walkin’ blues
    Got up this mornin’, feelin’ round for my shoes
    Yeah, you know bout that, I must-a had them old walkin’ blues
    You know, I cried last night and all the night before
    Gotta change my way a livin’, so I don’t have to cry no more
    You know, I cried last night and all the night before
    Gotta change my way a livin’, you see, so I don’t have to cry no more

  8. patty cee says:

    cool! i have son house in my favorites section at you tube; thank you so much for posting this.

  9. ellemem says:

    Son House had one of the greatest voices ever. It just cuts right into your soul.

    Any idea when or where this was made? I’ve seen brief clips of him performing part of the song (and talking about blues) on a tv show, but this is the first time I’ve seen the whole song.

Leave a Reply

