Billie Holiday w/ Lester Young- “Fine and Mellow” (1957)

12 Responses to Billie Holiday w/ Lester Young- “Fine and Mellow” (1957)

  1. Jan says:

    Billie is one of my favorite artists and I never thought I’d see such an intimate performance as this. I never thought to look. I’m crying for joy watching it. I’ve never even heard this song. Dang. I need to watch it agian. Thank you Ash!

  2. Claire says:

    Oh Lord, how my musical tastes have changed over the past few months…This is just wonderful stuff. This is lazy sunny Sunday morning stuff, coffee in hand, some good company and Billie on the stereo. Oh yeah. Who could want more from their music. Smiles, mellowness, honey from the speakers. *big lazy, happy sigh* Mmmmm.

  3. Omphalos says:

    That’s incredible. I feel like we’re witnessing something rare, like a flock of butterflies feasting on fallen fruit. “Fine and Mellow” indeed! The expressions on her face sing as much as the words do.

  4. Piper says:

    Thank you so much for this absolute gem Ash! Billie is by far one of my favourites. Though I am very familiar with the song I had never seen this video before. Excellent!

  5. ellemem says:

    What I love about this video, as much as that magnificent voice, is the look on Billie’s face as she watches the other musicians perform. The respect…love, even…that she has for them is palpable.

  6. Crazymomelon says:

    Sweeeeeeet.
    Thank you, Ash.

  7. Sunshine says:

    Mojavedesertgirl used the perfect word to describe Billie – Exquisite.
    And the horns brought back memories for me of my dad blowing on the trumpet and sax.

    Sweet way to start my week.
    Thanks Ash.

  8. snoopysoul says:

    Wow – Billie is one of my all time favorites – I never thought to look for videos! And what a great ensemble of musicians.

    Great one Ash – Thanks!

  9. Basenji says:

    Hmm, katja, guess I am caught in a Catch-22 with that one, huh?

  10. katja says:

    ah, wonderful.

    And Basenji…you think and write just simply beautifully…
    what else can I say:

    “I can’t type an electronic response to Billy Holiday, it would have to be handwritten…”

  11. Basenji says:

    I can’t type an electronic response to Billy Holiday, it would have to be handwritten…

  12. mojavedesertgirl says:

    “Everything I do sing is part of my life.” Ohhhhhhhh, Ash. That was…exquisite. I’m not even going to bother bopping over to the boogie board tonight – I want to go to sleep with that voice that music that image in my mind. Unbelievably…exquisite.

    “Love is like a faucet…it turns off and on…when you think it’s turned on…it’s turned off and gone…” Oh lordy, can I get a plumber?

Leave a Reply

