Hayward Williams.


“Wrapping up folky blues and hints of rootsy country and country folk rock, Hayward Williams is one of the most compelling artists rising on the scene these days. With a gorgeous blend of ache, gristle and whiskey-toned gruffness, his songs walk a perfect line between the sweet and bitter, the sentimental and cynical.” – CD Baby
Lazarus, from the album Trench Foot.

10 Responses to Hayward Williams.

  1. Jan B. says:

    Oops! That was all said in jest! I forget you guys don’t really know me! Of COURSE I’m going to check him out…the world would be a boring place if we only stuck with our “favorite”… I love Mac & Cheese, but not every night!

  2. Cali50 says:

    Thanks, Ash! I love this guy!

  3. Omphalos says:

    gristle & gruffness, cool!

    i agree, phandi, there’s lots of room for lots and lots of musicians. the more the better. in fact, one of the least savory aspects of Idol is how it cultivates a sort of jingoism, music-wise, a blind loyalty to the next supposed sensation. how many times have you read that this idol somebody or that idol somebody is the next elvis? as if elvis was even the next elvis. hype kills.

    but music saves! this one’s a keeper. thanks, ash.

  4. Kat says:

    Wow, what a fantastic artist. I’m a sucker for those gravely voices, so I’m always a wee bit disappointed when I hear fantastic composition and awesome lyrics, and then discover that there’s a flat, nasal tenor behind it. But not this dude. I’ll definitely be checking out his stuff on iTunes.

  5. patty cee says:

    i so appreciate this; went to his website and then itunes and bought some tunes. thank you so much.

  6. Basenji says:

    Aw, he’s a cutie-pie! See video.

    On his own music: “I would say sad bastard music that doesn’t take itself too seriously…Good drinking music.”

    Sorry, I had a Taylor brain freeze today. First time I needed a break, and it turns out there’s room for other singers in my life. Part of it was I ventured over to another board and read some things that depressed me. Suddenly that thatch of gray hair seemed a symbol of misinterpretations, bringing out the worst in people as they clamber over each other for personal gain, and just everything so serious, so very serious. I know this isn’t the case, I know it’s all good, but you know how in a relationship you just want to stop talking about the problem, you just want to stop talking?So when Ash introduced me to this light-hearted young man, and he made me laugh, I was charmed. It’s just a little affair, it doesn’t mean anything.

  7. Phandi says:

    Is it not possible to like more than one singer?

  8. Jan B. says:

    there’s just no loyalty in this world!

  9. Basenji says:

    “Before It Begins”
    “Somebody”
    “My Swift Love”
    “All at Once”
    tra la la la la, happy Basenji…

  10. Basenji says:

    Taylor who? I’m in love…voice sounds a little like Bruce Cockburn. Wow. Wow. Toe to Toe, Smoke and Mirrors, yummy voice, eats at me. Spent the evening with Son House and now my night is Hayward’s.

Leave a comment