Austin blues musician Guy Forsyth.

20 Responses to Austin blues musician Guy Forsyth.

  1. AliceinWonderland says:

    I’m late to the party as usual, but daaaay-um!! I’ve got goosebumps. I loves me some slow blues and Guy delivered! Guess I’m gonna have to add his stuff to my To Buy list.

    Thanks, Ash!

  2. Jan says:

    Here are 2 of my favorite songs from Can You Live Without and Steak by Guy… I’ll probably start a thread on Guy since I will eventually get vids up.

    Jan

    File Name: CanYouLiveWithout04.mp4
    Description: Can You Live Without – Can You Live Without
    File Size: 2 MB
    Download Link: http://www.sendspace.com/file/sf6jzi

    File Name: CanYouLiiveWithout03-IfIWasSick.mp4
    Description: Can You Live Without – If I Was Sick
    File Size: 1 MB
    Download Link: http://www.sendspace.com/file/3yy2ja

    Name: Steak13-PoorBoy.mp4
    Size: 1MB
    Description: Steak: Guy Forsythe Poor Boy

    The download link is: http://www.sendspace.com/file/jva19k

    Name: Steak01-Mona.mp4
    Size: 1MB
    Description: Steak: Guy Forsythe Mona

    The download link is: http://www.sendspace.com/file/v1d31b

  3. susieq3c says:

    Umm…wow…I’m blown away. That’s powerful.

  4. Jan says:

    There is no CD of Guy without his harp. He used to sneak into night clubs as a kid and play. Sound familiar? This video is great but can’t really show what I mean about his diversity as a performer. I was thinking, man Guy can sing anything and then I saw him with the Asylum Street Spankers not that long ago (while I was in this Taylor madness) and he sang rap. Well. I only say that because some people don’t sing it well. Like me for instance.

    Guy has a belt of harmonicas that he puts on when he plays a song that needs a harp. For one year or so, he wore an orange convict uniform and would put on that harp belt. I think was because Clifford Antone (founded Antone’s, Antone Records, brought the blues to Austin) was busted for selling pot.

    All of Guy’s CDs are on independent labels. Many of his original songs are thought provoking and political in nature.

  5. cmoore says:

    I really did enjoy this guy…he is certainly unique, & I like that. Also, I really enjoyed the diversity of his harmonica techinique….I’d enjoy hearing him also in person. Hope someone will put his better things on a CD & get to Taylor (especially the ones with harp).

  6. Chris (MacTwig) says:

    OK, I NEEDED this!!!!
    Totally love it and thank you.

    Why? Because I sold my house and in one week will be homeless – seriously.

    For no specific reason, I decided I will move to Austin. It just came out of my mouth one day after the millionth question from well meaning friends, family, and total strangers on the street. I got sick of the questions and just said, ‘Austin’. Why? Because.

    So all of you in the Austin area, I need you to contact me via the boogie board / PM to guide me on where to look to buy and possible job possibilities.

  7. Jan says:

    I personally like Steak the best but I also love Can You Live Without. His new one is Love Songs For and Against and I’ve have it but I haven’t listened to it that much. I need to listen to it again because I heard him perform quite a few songs from it a couple of weeks ago. He plays in Austin all the time. I saw him perform with Will Taylor and Strings Attached and I have that live recording that I bought at the show. He also used to play with the Asylum Street Spankers and sometimes will play with them when they play the Saxon Pub. He is an incredibly diverse and talented artist.

  8. cochem says:

    Hey 1st time post…I really like this song…Does anybody know the name of this song… I would like to see more of his work…I showed to my husband and he liked him too… So now off to itunes to download…Thanks Ash for the great music…Damn that Taylor for making me “listen” to the music!!!

  9. Phoebe says:

    Damn that was unexpected.

    It’s clear this is someone to see live, so I lookup where he’s gonna be, and only shows in/around TX, unfortunately. I’m guessing that the harp work alone in his show pretty much leaves you a wreck.

    Here’s the surprise to me: There are way more than a few cuts on “Love Songs” that I’d consider ‘radio-friendly’ (ducking as I say that…but really) and he has an impressive vocal range. Jan, assuming only one, which of his CD’s would you recommend I purchase? Ash, can you elaborate on your ‘interesting character’ comment…

  10. Basenji says:

    Yum, yummy yum yum.

  11. Jan says:

    I have seen him about 20 times and own 4 of his CDs. I have been a fan for about 6 years. I have some great videos that I took with my new video camera. This performance is good but it ain’t Guy live. I’m going to stay up and get at least get the videos I took a couple of weeks ago in what I consider one of his best possible venues on my home computer. It may take me longer to figure out how to edit and post. Ummm…. I’m not so good at that.

  12. Snoopysould says:

    Wow seems to be the best word. Thanks Ash.

  13. Phile says:

    Wow. Thanks so much for the intro.

  14. A. says:

    Hicknic- I have seen him a few times. He’s great to watch while downing a beer. Captivating, talented, and an interesting character.

  15. Claireb7tx says:

    Ash- Love this guy! I live in Houston not that far from Austin so I will need to go check him out. Thanks for posting.

  16. Thackeray says:

    Wow, I love it. Makes me want to move back to Austin. You know, slow blues is my favorite kind, but I don’t think I’ve ever heard it on harmonica. Usually harp just wails. This throbs in such thought provoking ways. Verrrry interesting. I hope some of our other favorite harp players see this and start experimenting in this direction.

  17. deejay says:

    damn. that’s so good. thanks, Ash.

  18. CATaylorFan says:

    Wow! I loved this! I can’t believe all the fantastic artists that I never knew existed. Ash, I can’t thank you enough for introducing us to so many talented artists. I’d love to take a trip to Texas just to hear this Guy in person.

  19. Jan says:

    Awww… You know how much I love Guy Forsythe. I will try to edit and post my videos of Guy at the Shady Grove this week if I can. I may have to call Ash and SnoopySoul for tech support.

  20. Hicknic says:

    Holy Schnikies, what an entrance. I sure would like to be sitting at that bar beside him when he starts belting that song out, hawt, hawt, hawt!!! Have you seen this guy live Ash? or Jan?? Loved him!!! Dawn

Leave a Reply

