The John Coltrane Quartet on Jazz Casual- Afro Blue

6 Responses to The John Coltrane Quartet on Jazz Casual- Afro Blue

  1. A. says:

    mapsadaisical- re: Elvin Jones- I agree. I find it both soothing and oddly invigorating. I could sit all shushed and tap along for hours on end.

  2. Really enjoyed this. However, I thought the contribution of the white guy sitting next to the piano was a bit weak, at least until the 6.49 mark, when he really “comes” alive…

    Shame we didn’t get to see more of Elvin Jones – I could watch him drum all day.

  3. Phile says:

    That was perfect for my Sunday morning – the first one in a long time where I don’t have to be sitting in a cubicle by 6 AM. This makes me realize I don’t have nearly enough Coltrane in my collection. As always, thank you.

  4. daunchan says:

    My husband and I went to hear a jazz trio nearby last night and tonight. They played some John Coltrane. It turns out that the bass player sitting in this weekend is pretty well known, a member of the Phil Woods Quintet, Steve Gilmore, he was amazing. http://www.philwoods.com/gilmore.htm

  5. deejay says:

    thanks, Ash. used to be a great little jazz club back in the early 80’s in Dallas, across the highway from SMU, and we’d to in there on a Saturday night and it would start off easy and jazzy like this. everyone sitting around, eyes half closed, tapping their feet, rockin’ back and forth to this cool breezy jazz. loved it. as the night wore on, and more drinks were poured, the blues just seeped on out of all the musicians and jazz turned into something else. something more. I love the way this music makes me feel. like old memories and going home but like hope for tomorrow to be a better day, too. and it’s just damn nice to listen to, isn’t it!! appreciate you posting it.

  6. Cali50 says:

    Thanks for this, Ash! You know it’s so easy to get all wrapped up in Taylor videos and forget about other music. It was amazing watching this. You really are an ole’ soul, aren’t you?

Leave a Reply

