Sonny Terry & Brownie McGhee performing “Backwater Blues”.

6 Responses to Sonny Terry & Brownie McGhee performing “Backwater Blues”.

  1. A. says:

    Are you okay now, MollyK?

  2. MollyK says:

    No, I take that back. I cannot tell a lie. I won’t pretend to buy it. Picture Tim Curry in whatever the hell that movie was where he was the Devil and you might get where I’m drifting right about now.

  3. MollyK says:

    Is the message board locked up? It is 10:47 or so EST on 9/24 and I can’t get on. Do we have to go hang out on the AI boards for this? Are you freakin kidding me? Tell me this is just a problem I alone am having with my 36-hour old computer. I won’t belive you, but if it’s a good enough song and dance, I’ll pretend to buy it.

  4. Omphalos says:

    Ash, I could just kiss you!

    I’m a hardcore Sonny & Brownie fan from way back. They (and The Staple Singers and Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan) got me through grad school. I have nearly everything they ever recorded but this is the first time, thanks to you, that I’ve seen them perform. Smokin! They’re the real thing. 100%. Gen-u-wine.

    Recommended albums: Brownie McGhee and Sonny Terry Sing; Sonny and Brownie. Here’s a special number from the latter, in honor of Ash’s supreme boogitude:

    http://www.sendspace.com/file/6j8bfw

    It’s true. You bring out the boogie in us.

  5. ms.sonny says:

    WOOOHOOO Ash!Thank You and Lawd have mercy!
    You made my day!

    fingers flying over keyboard…head down
    FOCUSED!
    searching for more!

  6. Linda T. says:

    Oh my God Ash, you have done it again. Slay me, or in the words of Brownie about 3/4 of the way thru this, “Lawd have mercy!!” I immediately went to my local library site and put my name on the waiting list for every Sonny/Brownie recording they have — which was a lot (I’m lucky to be blessed with a great library system). I’m especially looking forward to listening to a 5-CD compilation as well as one called “Going it Alone”, in which another of my favorite blues guitar players, Louisiana Red, sits in with them. Thank you thank you thank you for this!!!

Leave a Reply

