Big Walter “Shakey” Horton

Big Walter Horton (aka Shakey Walter Horton, Mumbles, Tangle Eye)

Instrument(s): Harmonica, Voice

Life span: Born Apr. 6, 1917, Horn Lake, MS; Died Dec. 8, 1981, Chicago, IL

“Hard Hearted Woman”, from Harmonica Blues Kings

“Card Game”, from Harmonica Blues Kings

.

Two videos below.

Jamming with Johnny Shines and Honeyboy Edwards

Walter playing with an all-star band in Europe in 1970, featuring Willie Dixon on bass, Lee Jackson on guitar, Lafayette Leake on piano, and Clifton James on drums.

5 Responses to Big Walter “Shakey” Horton

  1. Omphalos says:

    That picture of Big Walter Horton, with the plaid pants and sumpin tucked into them, cracks me up. I can almost hear the dark smoky rooms in these tracks! Thanks for introducing us to another old bluesman. Good stuff.

  2. ms.sonny says:

    SHIT!
    Just noticed!!
    it’s still here!
    Below me!
    AACCKK!

  3. ms.sonny says:

    an Ash.
    no offense meant
    but
    thank you
    for taking that scary monkybot way over my head thingy off.
    I had a teerrrible dream about it!
    It was in the bathroom with me!!
    WTF?

  4. katja says:

    Thank you. Again.
    Nice. Very nice.

  5. ms.sonny says:

    I listened to this all morning..
    well morning for me starts at 3 am.
    Thanks for the link.
    And something new for my collection of
    where have I been?
    1930-40..
    My mothers Era
    Love it all.

Leave a Reply

