Hot damn you should’ve felt the groove

Marc Broussard

55 Responses to Hot damn you should’ve felt the groove

  1. double d says:

    WOOO…scenes from my “Home”….literally.

    Carencro, LA is just north of Lafayette, my hometown. Good Cajun folk. Marc’s dad Ted, is a guitarist that is in the Louisiana Music Hall of Fame. Mark is only 22 and has been doing this for a LONG time. I like most of his stuff, particularly “Let me Leave”.

  2. Bama Angelfish says:

    Broussard’s CD, purchased today, is so good. His music seems to make me a little breathless. So glad you shared this one.

  3. AgingHippie says:

    hmmmm, that method works for adding links to emails

    trying again – if this doesn’t work, guess I don’t know how to do it here

  4. AgingHippie says:

    Remember hearing something of his once before but needed this reinforcement – thanks Ash – will be adding another CD to the pile – kinda liking the personal attention I get at the local music store now – hee !

    Followed the YouTube back and found more songs including this recorded live version of Home

    Marc Broussard – ReACT Now Benefit (9/10/05)

  5. lela says:

    on all the boards ive been talkin and talkin and talkin ’bout marc broussard and no one paid much attention….so GLAD youve discovered revealed him!

  6. krusty says:

    Now THIS is what I’m talkin’ about. I could feel the heat from the swamps. I’m off to Wallyworld. Gotta new CD to buy. And I’m thrilled to hear he’s going to be at the Hard Rock Orlando. There’s no way I’m missing this so close to home!

  7. […] I’ve got a fair number of friends who are more musically inclined and musically sophisticated than I am, but I stumbled across this all mine own self (well, I found it on Taylor is the Boogie mine own self, well with the help of WordPress Hot Posts), so I feel very proud. This is worthy of going up against the best. […]

  8. hickifino says:

    Marc Broussard! Wonderful! I listen and learn from your suggestions. This guy really clicked with me. More than the others.

    I’m originally from Louisiana and his sound reminds of home. Louisiana is a music blend – R&B, hiphop, country ( the nasally stuff), country pop (Tim McGraw is from Louisiana), rock, Cajun, Southern Rock – a little of everything. A wonderful place to develop musically diverse tastes!

  9. taylorsfan says:

    adding to my christmas list….

  10. Kat says:

    BarbieB, do you go to school in Tampa Bay? I’ve over at Stetson…I may try to get a group together to go see Broussard; if I do I will certainly let you know about it.

  11. BarbieB says:

    Kat, Thanks and Godd Luck on your finals. I can relate, Also, Hard ROck 11/30 , may try to go there.
    Basenji; Opening Act for Taylor, Great Idea!

  12. Kat says:

    BarbieB, I live in Tampa Bay so I’d know if he were coming, but right now he’s scheduled to play the Orlando Hard Rock on November 30. Since it’s in the middle of finals for me, I’ll have to really beg people to go (unless they’ve got a fantastic finals schedule like me!).

  13. Basenji says:

    Opening act for Mr. Hicks on tour?

  14. Basenji says:

    I gotta jones in my bones. Ah the southern porch metaphor resurfaces. Home is the porch for me. Ash, you still have that cold beer ready?

    Yet another album purchased…Mr. Basenji came home for a month, uploaded all the stuff I bought over the past four months (Ash reccs) to his iPod, complimented me on my musical taste, and left again for sea. Bring it on girl! You’re making me look very good.

  15. Shandykat says:

    In case y’all didn’t notice, for those who went, Marc Broussard was part of LiMBO’s pre-set and between-set piped in music. It’s what you’d hear before they took the stage, and in between their sets.

    Good stuff πŸ™‚

  16. Alrighty – this is my last comment on this: Check out this video of Marc with Toby Lightman (another great artist with soul btw ;)) And watch how he dances – remind you of anyone? Love it – thanks for introducing me to another great artist Ash!

  17. People, see the guy live, if you can. He’s great. And he is on tour now! I just saw him in San Fransico and he was fantastic. Yummy yummy soulful song after song.

  18. Claireb7tx says:

    That was great…I agree this was groovy. I will have to check out more of his stuff.

  19. BarbieB says:

    He’s really good , thanks for the post. I am really into groove music lately it seems. Does Marc Broussard tour ? Kat, You mentioned Orlando , could you be more specific , or does he inted to do Tamps as well?

  20. mojavedesertgirl says:

    I heard Broussard before (this song, and something else…he was on an NPR feature awhile back), but hadn’t SEEN him – absolutely no clue that amazing voice belonged to someone so young. Great stuff – thanks for reminding me how much I liked it when I first heard it, and that I had intended to investigate further. Hey, maybe this guy should try out for some reality music show, I dunno, like American Idol or something…

    There’s something wrong with the Boogie? Horrors! Actually, a good thing for me – I came home sick with an eye infection and strep throat, so now I will crawl into bed without feeling like I’m missing BIG STUFF….talk to y’all in a few days…

  21. Jan says:

    Ash I love this song and video. A funky beat, soulful blues, and a gospel vibe. Love it.! I will own it soon. Does he have blue eyes? I could see being called a -eyed soul man.

  22. Kat says:

    If I had any criticism of Marc Broussard, it’s that he did seem a little stiff in some of the video scenes. Has anyone seen him live? I wonder if he’s looser with a live audience. Actually, he’s coming to Orlando in November–I have a final that morning but my next exam isn’t for a week, so I may just have to go and check him out.

  23. aerinphil says:

    Wow! It’s been a while since I got really excited with someone’s song/singing/performance/video etc. etc.! And yes, that was a sexy groove…Thanks yet again for the music!!!!

  24. deejay says:

    well worth the wait to get home from work. oh yeah. good stuff. more music to buy this weekend.

  25. flowersKY says:

    That’s wonderful! I had heard of Marc Broussard, but never heard him. Now I have Heard him. Just listened to Rocksteady, Let Me Leave and Come Around at his site. What a voice.

    I tried to get on the board this afternoon at work, which I rarely do, and could not get past the blog. Thought it might be an IT block. Glad to hear it was not. Solar flares. πŸ™‚

  26. Lee says:

    MB sounded groovy to me…I watched it till the very end. The video makes the whole song very intriquing….I’d buy his CD.

  27. A. says:

    Blues.. you might want to read above. No one can get onto the board right now. Not myself, not anyone. there are technical problems.

  28. Phoebe says:

    Heh…it’s not often I can lay claim to having albums of the artists highlighted here, but this is one of those times.

    I couldn’t understand why he didn’t get more airplay on AC or similar stations with his last release. I thought it was pretty “radio-friendly.” I heard ‘Home’ quite a bit for awhile, but nothing else. ‘Carencro’ has been in my car’s changer for more than a year now.

  29. bluescomsouttoplay says:

    whi can’t i get onto the boogie board?

  30. Orca says:

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE this song. Heard it a few weeks ago and downloaded off iTunes immediately and listen to it several times a day. I had never heard of Marc Broussard before – another new musician added to my collection. Haven’t purchased the whole CD yet, but it’s only a matter of time.

  31. deejay says:

    s’alright, Ash. seems to be lots going on this afternoon elsewhere…or maybe lots of nothing? I’m so confused now…just give me the groove and some bluegrass and a bucket of beer and I’m a happy camper. πŸ˜‰

  32. A. says:

    Re: the issues with the board. Right now there isn’t anything I can do about it. It’s a sit-and-wait situation. Sorry to all for the inconvenience.

  33. Kat says:

    Hey Gray–yes, Marc does get the girls. And their babies. But he’s one of my favorite artists, and “Home” is one of the few “rock” songs that I enjoy, no doubt for its bayou edge. I highly recommend downloading the live version off iTunes. I’d love to see him live in concert one day, but no one cool ever comes and plays South Florida. It must be the humidity.

  34. Masshole says:

    So, So good. Love it.

  35. Omphalos says:

    And why was I dragging my feet about Broussard? Dang! Seeing him perform in this vid cured me of my intransigence. The sweat on that woman, I understand that now. Thanks Ash, sweetpea.

  36. mrspaul says:

    Off topic – whew! thought it was just my puter there for a minute!! Hope it doesn’t last long, don’t think I’m gonna make it through the day without the boogie board!!!

    On topic – Wow!! He really is good! Nirak – thanks for the heads up, I’m SOOO there next time he comes through Indy!!!

  37. deejay says:

    off-topic: yes, Wonderland, I’m unable to get on the board. heavy withdrawals…shakes…dizzy…

    on-topic: MB – another one I can’t wait to see when I get home (blocked at work-grrr). I’ve heard him before, but want to see this groove! I love having something to look forward to… πŸ™‚

  38. cher says:

    HOT DAMN is right….good stuff!!!!

  39. AliceinWonderland says:

    Sorry for the off-topic, but anyone else not able to get on the Boogie Board? It loads but there ain’t nothin’ there.

  40. AliceinWonderland says:

    Yay! I’m with Nirak: litte ‘ol Marc kicks some butt. I’ve been of fan of his for a couple years now and I actually get to see him live next month. Seems the LMBO boys may be fans as well. They were playing Carencro during their set breaks in Chicago. Ash, thanks for introducing him on the blog!

  41. Crazymomelon says:

    Now THAT’S what I’m talkin’ about!

  42. TaylorsDream says:

    All i can say is wow I sure did feel the Groove!!!!!

  43. katja says:

    Very nice. I love the beat. Excellent. wow.

  44. Gray Charles says:

    So is “Home”

    a) the swamp
    b) the porch
    c) a hot sweaty chick in a club?

    and does he get the girl(s)? cause he should get the girl after that.

  45. Nirak says:

    One final post on this topic, although I could ramble on for hours. Last week while listening to a local radio station interview Bob Seager ( sp??), they asked him what he was listening to and what his current favorite songs were. Guess what is first answer was….Marc Broussard’s “Home”!! YEAH!!!

  46. Bama Angelfish says:

    Under music on his website are three songs that can be downloaded from the Carencro CD.

  47. IbelieveinTHesong says:

    Nirak —

    Thanks for Marc’s website. Yet another NEWSLETTER to sign up for….

  48. Nirak says:

    Check out Marc’s website. Read his bio…..sounds kinda familiar doesn’t it???!!!

  49. lela says:

    Note…a MUST listen TO THE END of this! WOW

  50. Molly says:

    Alrighty then. I’m diggin it.

  51. Nirak says:

    Let me tell you all just how great Mr. MB is…I have seen him live in concert 4 times and each time just gets better. The last show was this past July in a smallish type club, standing room only. IT ROCKED!!! Half way thru his set he played some covers that were from Stevie Wonder, Donny Hathaway, Al Green and Sam Cooke. His most recent album, Carencro, is on constant rotation in my cars’s cd player. “Home” is probably the most recognizable song of his, but they are all just great.I can not recommend this cd enough. I bought my copy at Best Buy, so large retailers should carry it. Ash I am so glad you are highlighting one of my absolute favorites. THANK YOU!!!!! He is a little guy with a powerful voice. If you ever get the chance to go see him live….DO IT!!

    FYI- MB told us his new CD will be released in January 2007, so keep your eyes open for it.

  52. Bama Angelfish says:

    Once I rode a bus home from college. Alabama to New Mexico–28 hours. Wish it had been this one. Nice!

  53. IbelieveinTHesong says:

    Sounds like a really groovy beat! OK — so Broussard is another artist I’ve missed out on…. Got a lot to catch up on.

    According to Wikipedia (link above), Bayou Soul is “a mix of funk, blues, R&B, rock, and pop.” From the time the beat started at the beginning of this video, my eyes & ears were glued to the computer until the very last funky note.

  54. lela says:

    Now THIS IS WHAT WANT TO HEAR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    HOT

Leave a Reply

