Oh, Albuquerque

I’ve been flyin down the road, and I’ve been starvin to be alone,
And independent from the scene that I’ve known.

So I’ll stop when I can, find some fried eggs and country ham.
I’ll find somewhere where they dont care who I am.

-Neil Young (click to dl the song)

Do you consider the ability to go to a place where no one knows your name a luxury? Do you ever crave that kind of temporary “anonymity”?

18 Responses to Oh, Albuquerque

  1. A. says:

    It sounds like a wonderful trip, sasgeorgia.

  2. sasgeorgia says:

    I had the wonderful opportunity this past summer to be completely anonymous for 24 hours, and it was one of the most freeing experiences of my life. I was in a small town in Brittany, France – my friend left for the day and I was on my own: I didn’t know a soul, couldn’t speak the language and just wandered around with my camera all day in awe. Best of all, no one I know knew how to find me there. No one to ruin my perfect day!

  3. patty cee says:

    i actually live for those moments.

  4. Rabbit says:

    Absolutely. I just got back from being just on the other side of the state for 5 days (I missed the Boogie SOOO much) One day it rained and rained, but we went to all the little shops anyway and I was wet and drippy, scraggle-haired and red-faced by the time we went to lunch. Normally I’d think of all the people I might see while looking so terrible, but not in another city. I love it.

  5. ellencorndogdorkinator says:

    Anonymity, for brief periods of respite, is where it’s at. Necessary and refreshing. A person who constantly has a lot of demands on them needs to shed pretense and go somewhere you are not known, and be who you really feel like being at that moment–not who people think you ought to be. It is important to make sure you are someplace where you feel very confident that you won’t run into anyone you know, because even the fear of that happening really ruins it.

  6. Phile says:

    Funny – I live in Seattle too, and although I’ve never met Phantom (wah!) I can’t tell you the number of times I’ve just happened to bump into people I know. For a big city it feels like a small town to me. But it’s not as bad as the small towns in which I’ve lived where it seems too many folks know your business.

    I don’t crave being anonymous so much. I crave downtime. Alone time. Recharges my batteries.

  7. Madison says:

    Linda T: I know what you’re talking about–Maine! The perfect escape when you really need it most (I currently live in the greater Boston area for most of the year, but am a frequent flyer with my work, so the lure of Maine has pulled me from time to time for its promise if anonimity among the pines) and at this point in my life, I am happy to say that I do not have a husband or kids, so I don’t need to escape that situation, but there was a time when I did need to get away from the constancy (and truth-be-told, boring nature of) a particular long-term relationship–wasn’t working for me or him, and Maine was a natural, northern choice for a much needed escape–wilderness, open space, clean air, the song of the loon resonating over the lake at night, and my much-adored dog my only companion. I remember those days fondly.

    There is great solice that accompanies a retreat into the profound solitude that only a remote location can offer–and god knows that Maine is all about moose, pine trees and the experience of the great outdoors (how much more solitude can a modern day Thoreau experience?). But even in the midst of a this unending expanse of remote wilderness, I happened upon a married couple and thier new-born son, (who had, incedentally, recently run screaming from the corporate pressures of NYC to a VERY remote Maine locale and we recognized each other)–YIKES! What were the odds of this happeing, and better yet, what was the lesson to be learned from this experience? I often ask myself… As I believe, there are no cooincidences in life, just Karma or fate playing itself out as we travel our individual paths…can’t wait to turn the next corner…but for the record, I hope that it doesn’t invove another singular trip to Maine–I’m up for another kind of adventure now that I’ve experienced this soul patrol summer of discovery!

  8. Aw, there’s no such thing. Isn’t the great wide world our friend? It should be. And people are so hard to reisist. Screw anonimity. Make friends, people.

  9. MollyK says:

    Nah, I get enough of it at home.

  10. Linda T. says:

    Neil Young, sweet. That CD, “Tonight’s the Night” is one of his most tortured and exquisite discs.

    Every year (usually spring) I drive far far away from Boston and go to northern Maine, past Acadia National Park to the Schoodic peninsula, alone — hubby and son waving to me in the rearview mirror. I crave not only the anonymity, but also the solitude. The verse about stopping for fried eggs and country ham takes me back to Chase’s, the local dive in Winter Harbor, where there is detached friendliness and the best greasy burger around. I consider this annual trip not as a luxury, but a necessity.

  11. EJ says:

    Shoot, being in NYC I can do that by turning the corner or taking the commuter train after my regular one… The amazing thing is when somebody DOES know your name.

  12. Madison says:

    I tire of anonymity very quickly, because it can be very isolating and lonely. My my personal life and public work put me in places where I am, for the most part, not anonymous–I guess that we gravitate towards what is comfortable and comforting to us, and we ultimately choose where we want to be–that that’s where we end up in the end. But, as variety is the spice of life, I do sometimes look forward to the times where I’m anonymous, a time to not always have to be “on”–but I don’t allow those moments to last too long.

    Lately, I prefer to vacation alone, as I seem to make acquaintances on the road that keep me connected to people without having to answer to anyone and I don’t have to move to a companion’s beat.

    Anonimity is like ice cream–I don’t have a steady diet of it and rarely miss is, but when I get a craving and succumb to scoop, it’s really delicious.

  13. mac_fae says:

    It was not that long ago that I discovered that being an introvert was not a bad thing.
    Introverts acquired their energy ( recharge their batteries ) by shutting down, drawing away, having some quiet time. I am social but absolutely must have some time alone on a regular basis – it’s not a luxury, it is critical and I am no celebrity.
    “Starvin to be alone” – I can totally understand that feeling.

  14. Cali50 says:

    I love anyonimity! I’m a teacherr and my husband is a police officer, so we really like to be anonymous when we go out. I alsolike to spend time alone, like shopping by myself. Love it! This Spring I want to take a vaction by myself. I’m going to eventually end up at my brother’s in Mo. to visit, but I am purposefullygoing to land in Memphis so I can do some sight seeing all alone. Graceland, here I come!

  15. beatz says:

    I don’t know about crave, but I do enjoy going places where people don’t know my name. It takes the pressure off of having to act a certain way. That’s why I like coming to the Boogie Board. lol Don’t most people who communicate online feel that way?

  16. Phantom says:

    I love Neil Young, Ash. Thank you for the dl!

    I live in Seattle and it’s a big enough city that I generally feel anonymous when I go shopping, etc. Personally, I prefer it. I lived in small towns growing up and it can be a pain when “everybody knows your name”. As all things in life, though, there’s good and bad about everything. There are times when I’m really homesick for that small town vibe.

  17. taylorsfan says:

    I would say yes I do, I guess you can say I find it very peaceful & entertaining, two fold. First peaceful alone time, I guess that is why I need(crave) my morning before sunrise walks and I refuse to do this with anyone but my walkman, me & my thoughts. (a great substitute if you can’t get away)Second I enjoy interacting with new people, they don’t know me & I don’t know them~ just living in the moment. We can talk about anything,….there is so much more to people then our daily hectic lives allow to reveal. Does that make any sense? I get it….

  18. Amy says:

    Working where I work and living where I live there is nothing I love better than taking off and going somewhere away from here— no one recognizes me or asks me questions. I always say “I Love Being Anonymous!” (even for just a short time)

Leave a Reply

