OCMS- Down Home Girl

‘Newgrass’/Americana/ alt.country ensemble Old Crow Medicine Show and their cover of The Rolling Stones’ “Down Home Girl”.

13 Responses to OCMS- Down Home Girl

  1. mojavedesertgirl says:

    These guys are way cool. I’ve got their self-titled cd from a few years ago, and it got heavy rotation in the cd player for months. Thanks for the reminder – I’ll have to unearth it out of the pile(s) and give it a spin again.

  2. kc15643 says:

    I love the Alvin Robinson version of this song recorded just prior to the Rolling Stones. It’s a bluesy, New Orleans kinda sound. You can read about Alvin Robinson on the following website.

    http://funky16corners.tripod.com/5_alvin_robinson.htm

    Here’s a link to the mp3:

    http://www.bolt.com/kc15643/music/Down_Home_Girl__Alvin_Rob/2526204

  3. mac_fae says:

    A – believe me I am on the look out for them.
    Given how diverse they are, it would have to be like 3 shows in one.

    This is really super one of them with Gillian Welch doing The Weight

  4. deejay says:

    thanks, Ash. I like these guys. but it feels so odd. for so long, I didn’t like music at all. then Taylor came along and now there’s just so much music – stuff you are suggesting, stuff on Gray’s, stuff other Boogie boarders’ are suggesting – I feel like I’m drowning. I want to hear it all. I want to do nothing for the rest of my life except listen to music. It’s so frustrating to have to keep on going to work and interacting with people when I just want to stop the world and listen to music.

    but I like these guys. more to listen to. thanks, Ash.

  5. flowersKY says:

    That 2nd you tube video that mac_fae posted of Wagon Wheel was recorded at the Woodsongs Old Time Radio Hour in Lexington, KY. I posted about that place in the Other Music thread awhile back. I am going there tomorrow evening to see Alejandro Escovedo.

  6. Sunshine says:

    Liked it very much!

  7. A. says:

    I love them. Go see ’em live if you like the videos on youtube. They’re a lot of fun.

  8. StrongandFree says:

    more on old crow medicine show from NPR (Oct 25)

    “Old Crow Medicine Show is a country/bluegrass quintet with a punk attitude and a vibrant Americana style that’s hard to resist. The group’s instrumental repertoire includes upright bass, harmonica, fiddle, banjo and multiple guitars, to go with vocals propelled by a distinctive country twang.”

    http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=6382248

  9. mac_fae says:

    I like these guys when they are wailing or when they are just doing straight up bluegrass….so here’s a couple more.

    Tell It To Me ……. with a little harp action for us harp lovesr

    Wagon Wheel

  10. Hsv4Taylor says:

    This group is a favorite of my son, daughter-in-law and her entire family. They always go see them anytime they are in the area. OCMS cd’s were an item that all of them put on their Christmas wish lists last year. Check out some more of their videos. Especially the faster ones. But then I love bluegrass music about as much as soul music. Thanks Ash for posting the video.

  11. Linda T. says:

    LOL that guy at the end??!?! Loved the song, loved the lyrics especially “every time I kiss you it tastes like pork and beans”.

  12. flowersKY says:

    Sex Pistols! BWAHAHAHAH! I enjoyed these guys. Will look for more. Loved the little vignettes of the city.

  13. AliceinWonderland says:

    “Are they the Sex Pistols?” LOLOLOL!!

    Thanks, Ash! Nice to wake up to this morning. I’ll have to check into these guys. 🙂

Leave a Reply

