Taylor Hicks album cover and Audio Blog.

cdcover.jpg

GrayCharles posted the final album cover today. I like it. I’m curious to see how the general public will react to the seriousness and darkness of the image, as I’m certain that some folks who haven’t been following his career this summer will expect something more lighthearted and geek with guitar. It’ll be interesting.

Also up on GrayCharles.com is a new audio blog post from Taylor.

5 Responses to Taylor Hicks album cover and Audio Blog.

  1. Lena says:

    I think the photo is right on! Taylor is a serious musician and that’s why it fits. I think he photographs better with a serious expression anyway. I don’t know where the photo was taken, but, it looks like a “House of Blues” type venue. Album cover aside, this is his first album since he won AI. I’m hoping we hear alot of Taylor’s style on this album and not what “they” thought the album should be. He obviously needs to be himself, and I feel in future albums (hoping there will be many), more and more of that Taylor flare will be very evident. Let’s hope radio gives him alot of play too! Good luck Taylor, I’ll be a fan forever because you touched my heart with your soul, and without soul, there is no music….

  2. Omphalos says:

    I can’t get past the awkwardness of that typeface. I’m figuring it’s a mock-up, though, since they’ll need the album name on it, too. Given the quaility of the photo, there’s no reason to believe that they won’t finesse the type as well when the time comes. I like the type, just not the size or placement. Sorry, design geek moment. I’ll go back to the peanut gallery now.

  3. NOLASoul says:

    I like it! Interesting that they give his hands prominence……..just saying 😉

  4. Cali50 says:

    I think people who have not been following Taylor or who have an AI distain (like my daughter!) might think,”Hey, this guy looks like a serious musician!” I just sent her the picture for a non-Soul Patrol reaction. I’m anxious to hear what she says.

  5. MollyK says:

    I think that people who haven’t been following his career will pay no attention until they hear something from the album.

    I guess if I have any concern, it would be that we’ve been hearing from Taylor the “brass with ASS” stuff and getting a general impression of an overall upbeat jammin sound and this cover looks more somber. We’ll see how that all goes.

Leave a Reply

