Wonderful Dusty Springfield Videos

“I Only Want To Be With You”

The only white girl who dared to sing Motown way back then. “Get Ready”

Dusty at her smoldering best. “Son of a Preacher Man”


Dusty Springfield (with Echo). “Mockingbird”

additional:

An even better version by Aretha


7 Responses to Wonderful Dusty Springfield Videos

  1. beachn says:

    Dusty was the first album I listened to every song and really got into. She’ll always have a special place in my heart. Every song is so heartfelt.
    I think you’re right mac-fae, 64-65 sounds right.

  2. Marianne Yelle says:

    I recently saw a Dustie Springfield program on TV (In Australia) which was part of a Gay Icons show! I had no idea that there was an issue with her sexuality -I know her songs well but I was younger then and I’m sure that in those days, ‘one’s sexuality’ was NEVER discussed! It seems that she came out as bisexual when she was questioned about it altho she denied being gay. Then the discussion was whether she said ‘bisexual’ versus gay (or lesbian) just to keep more of her audience? Anyhow, it was interesting as this was never part of my persona of her before I saw this show. It was also interesting that, in this program, they said that all the gay icons (whether they were gay themselves or not) showed a lot of emotion in their singing style or (like Madonna for instance) showed overt sexuality in their performance. Made me wonder if Taylor might gain a gay following (re. emotive singing style)?

  3. mac-fae says:

    Her’s was one of the very first albums I purchased …I’m thinking 1964 – 65 ?
    I remember playing it over and over
    I loved her husky voice and a lot of her songs were perfect for a love sick girl
    ….I particularly remember
    You Don’t Have To Say You Love Me
    I Only Want To Be With You
    I Just Don’t Know What To Do With Myself
    Wishin’ And Hopin’

  4. Thank you. Dusty Springfrield is awesome and I so appreciate your acknowldgement of her great work here. Dig it!

  5. MollyK says:

    Snap. I already watched the Aretha Mockingbird 3 times today. Joan Osbourne has a smokin’ “Son of a Preacher Man” too. Thanks, Ash.

  6. Cali50 says:

    In my younger days, she was my favorite female performer. Love Dusty! What a soulful lady! Thanks, Ash, what great memories this brings back.

  7. JAG says:

    This brings back some wonderful memories.Dusty was ahead of the times with her fabulous soulful voice!

Leave a Reply

