What you want with a woman who won’t do what she said?

Indie hip-hop/rap artist & poet Sage Francis and the beautiful alt.country/ folk/ blues siren Jolie Holland have collaborated on a new song that I can only describe as a delicious combination of blues twang, Jolie’s floaty yet down to earth vocals and Sage’s classic wordsmithery.

I suggest giving it a listen, even if you don’t like rap. I am not a huge fan of the genre either, but Sage Francis has a way with words and rhythm that pulled me in years ago.
“Got Up This Morning”

Sage Francis’ new album Human the Death Dance is now available at amazon.com.

24 Responses to What you want with a woman who won’t do what she said?

  1. taylor made 4 me says:

    thanks Ash for this wonderful board. It is, from what I can see very poetic!
    C and W you are really cool…remind me of an old soul.
    Peace all.
    smiles

  2. boogie says:

    b: I’ve been dragging my ass on buying this record, but because of your post I will be buying it tonight.

  3. boogie says:

    I see your posts….

  4. taylor made 4 me says:

    tried to post but nothing really goes in..my posts are lost in space
    so strange

  5. taylor made 4 me says:

    Hi board…!
    Hi graciecat…it’s me taylor made 4 me…
    what’s doin ?
    I gather you can still post here, it’s not closed or anything!
    I still post..why the heck not!
    I guess Taylor is in Alabama now for his day? How cool is that? I hope the weather was beautiful for him!
    I have spent today lining up my summer schedule for Tay’s concerts. My husband bought me tickets for everything he could, and now I have to get the logistics worked out. I am SO excited!
    Dreaming here…sigh.
    I will be in AC HOB in just about a month, after school is out, and I cannot wait!

    Oh the Tom’s River concert went something like this…
    “Let’s GO rITaCCo dear love”…that’s what HE said. OMG Then he started singing Be there! Be there! Be there! I was laughing so hard I cried. My husband is so funny like that. I just smiled and asked the important question…ARE they good seats??? He replied somethign like ONLY the best would do for me…he is so sweet to me.
    If the sky doesn’t open up at times and pour down on me…WOW…I cannot say enough about him, he is amazing…see’s right through me sometimes, but then I see right through him too. That’s the beauty of love I guess.

    And then I still await the wine festival outcome…I guess he is awaiting my decision.
    I say let’s do it…I might just do it!

    graciecat I hope you are having a fine day!

    take good care!
    Michelle

  6. taylor made 4 me says:

    hi

  7. taylor made 4 me says:

    Hi board…
    Hi graciecat…it’s me taylor made 4 me…
    what’s doin ?
    I gather you can still post here, it’s not closed or anything!
    I still post..why the heck not!
    I guess Taylor is in Alabama now for his day? How cool is that? I hope the weather was beautiful for him!
    I have spent today lining up my summer schedule for Tay’s concerts. My husband bought me tickets for everything he could, and now I have to get the logistics worked out. I am SO excited!
    Dreaming here…sigh.
    I will be in AC HOB in just about a month, after school is out, and I cannot wait!

    Oh the Tom’s River concert went something like this…
    “Let’s GO rITaCCo dear love”…that’s what HE said. OMG Then he started singing Be there! Be there! Be there! I was laughing so hard I cried. My husband is so funny like that. I just smiled and asked the important question…ARE they good seats??? He replied somethign like ONLY the best would do for me…he is so sweet to me.
    If the sky doesn’t open up at times and pour down on me…WOW…I cannot say enough about him, he is amazing…see’s right through me sometimes, but then I see right through him too. That’s the beauty of love I guess.

    And then I still await the wine festival outcome…I guess he is awaiting my decision.
    I say let’s do it…I might just do it!

    graciecat I hope you are having a fine day!

    take good care!
    Michelle

  8. Basenji says:

    Post on the boards (link below), obviously this thread is for the Sage Francis discussion:

    http://excoboard.com/exco/index.php?boardid=19754

  9. graciecat says:

    Hi everyone! I think John Melendez from The Tonight Show interview said that today May 16 is Taylor Hicks Day in Birmingham, Alabama. Anyone got any news of how the city is planning to celebrate? Sorry to post this comment here but didn’t know where else to post…

  10. This was brilliant–thank you for forging the introduction.

    May I veer slightly off topic for just a moment? Pray forgive the digression. I promise I won’t do it again..anytime soon.

    Now that the tour is over,, I hope Mr. Hicks is back on Alabama terra firma enjoying a well earned rest with loved ones. I wanted to post this poem in his honor; it’s a particular favorite of mine by a favorite author from the Harlem Rennaisance period. I treasure this piece so much that I posted it once before on GrayCharles, so do forgive the redundancy of its reappearance.

    Daybreak in Alabama

    When I get to be a composer
    I’m gonna write me some music about
    Daybreak in Alabama
    And I’m gonna put the purtiest songs in it
    Rising out of the ground like a swamp mist
    And falling out of heaven like soft dew.
    I’m gonna put some tall tall trees in it
    And the scent of pine needles
    And the smell of red clay after rain
    And long red necks
    And poppy colored faces
    And big brown arms
    And the field daisy eyes
    Of black and white black white black people
    And I’m gonna put white hands
    And black hands and brown and yellow hands
    And red clay earth hands in it
    Touching everybody with kind fingers
    And touching each other natural as dew
    In that dawn of music when I
    Get to be a composer
    And write about daybreak
    In Alabama.

    -Langston Hughes

  11. Basenji says:

    Civil Obedience: awesome, works the words and rhythm, sharp, perfect use of consonance, alternates with little moments of musical lyricism

    Broccoli Break: “That’s fresh” Spoken word poetry, collage

    Clickety Clack: sharp, keen, tight, beat drives, makes me want to…

    Hoofprints in the Sand: Four Horseman and all that. But also damn good rhythmic shit.

    Wow wow wow wow wow wow

    Wow

  12. graciecat says:

    Boogie a.k.a. Ash, thanks. Juliegr…totally agree. I have sent the videos from The Tonight Show to my friends. It seems no matter how many times Taylor and the band do a song you are in for a treat as they always change it up just a bit or as in Soul Thing…a lot! Talk about funky blues jazz…The three videos were awesome. It was nice seeing the fan video also. Everyone has to watch them. I tried leaving a comment but didn’t see it appear yet maybe the show has to read them first or something. You can also rate the video. I think the more often we do that the more Mr. Leno will know how much we appreciated seeing these awesome videos. Taylor and the band. WOW!Very, very impressive!

  13. taylor made 4 me says:

    OFF topic here…
    The video above mentions a woman whispered french to him…

    Here are amazing lyrics from a french song that speaks of love and the ultimate metallurgy of heart and soul.

    Car tant vous aim, sans mentir For I love you so much, truly,
    Qu’on poroit avant tarir that one could could sooner dry up
    La haute mer the deep sea
    Et ses ondes retenir and hold back its waves
    Que me peusse alentir than I could constrain myself
    de vous amer. from loving you,

    Sans fausser; car mi penser, without falsehood; for my thoughts
    Mi souvenir, mi plaisir my memories, my pleasures
    Et mi desir sont sans finer and my desires are perpetually
    En vous que ne puis guerpir n’entroublier…

    The french sure know how to woooooo em! A nice bordeaux and a beautiful sunset along with these verses and I am certain that, well…you know the rest!

    My all time FAVORITE scene in a movie is in Braveheart, when William Wallace speaks to his love in French…and she is clueless, but he is saying so much to her and speaking of her beauty…basically professing his love and spilling his heart out…and she is oblivious. It’s a really tender moment! my second favorite scene is when he yells “FREeeeeeeeeeeeeEDOM”… cough as they draw and quarter him. eww.

    Hope everyone is feeling the LOVE tonight!

    Be happy and peaceful…
    smiles
    Michelle

  14. juliegr says:

    COMMENT ON THE TONIGHT SHOW WITH TAYLOR HICKS:

    There are actually THREE segments on the Tonight Show site — the last one is an interview by John Melendez (the announcer for the show). Cute — some of the regular questions but a new one is about a Taylor Hicks Day in Alabama on 5/16!!

    Also, I asked a question on another thread about Jay’s comment regarding Taylor’s album selling over 1 million copies. Why is there a discrepancy — SoundScan and Bill Board say 670,000 copies.

    Hope Griz or someone can find out the facts!!! Sic ’em!

    Nite All!!

    OMG — BE SURE TO WATCH SOUL THING !!!!! STARTS OUT NORMALLY THEN — EXPLOSION!!

  15. boogie says:

    graciecat: Boogie, AKA Ash. is the one to thank.

    I’m glad you enjoyed it.

  16. graciecat says:

    Who do we have to thank for this? Is that Boogie? First, I want to say thanks for the word “wordsmithery”, I must use that more often. I am not a big fan of hip-hop but did like this. There is something about the rhythm and the beat that gets your body a “be-boppin” from side to side …don’t quite know how to describe it better. Thanks for the introduction to Sage Francis just as I was recently introduced to Jolie Holland ( The Littlest Birds) a few days ago on the site also. Thanks.

  17. karoray says:

    Thanks, I’ll do that. I really do like it, its just that the repetitive business gets to me for some reason. I can’t even stay in a quiet room with a ticking clock for very long for some reason. I know, I’m weird. Most people find that relaxing. But I am a sucker for lyrics, all kinds.

  18. boogie says:

    Karoray: glad you enjoyed it to an extent. If you liked the wordsmithery you might want to check out his “Personal Journals” album. It’s a bit more angry, but the phrasing is mind blowing and the lyrics are something many people can relate to in one way or another.

  19. boogie says:

    Basenji: Glad you liked it! I thought you just might. We’ve much in common musically.

    The album is titled Human the Death Dance and can be purchased on Amazon among other places.

    Here’s a review of the album:
    http://www.pitchforkmedia.com/article/record_review/42667-human-the-death-dance

    Ms. Holland does another track on this record entitled “Black Out on White Night”. Interesting title, but I can’t vouch for the song as I haven’t heard it yet.

  20. Basenji says:

    In love. In absolute love. Album name, place to purchase?

  21. karoray says:

    I liked it. Lyrics are very important to me as I love poetry, all kinds. Sometimes I would rather just read it, as that kind of repetitive beat starts to wear on my nerves after a while. Made me think of some of Emimens stuff. I get the feeling that a beat of that kind is meant to be somewhat hypnotic. But instead of getting hypnotised, I just get annoyed. But I love the lyrics and I like to listen to that type of stuff at least for awhile.

  22. boogie says:

    @ kelmiester: You are welcome! I can’t imagine not have posting it. I’m in love.

    @ taylor made 4 me: Understandable. To each their own. Thanks for taking a listen anyways!

  23. taylor made 4 me says:

    Have to post just so this lil ol blog spot doesn’t go unnoticed.
    I watched and listened to the video. I kept an open mind. I am not really a fan of this type of music so it was very hard. But for many this type of music fiils a need I guess to complete that person in some way.
    I don’t relate, but it’s worth a listen if you enjoy an angrier message in your music.
    The guys face kept bugging me out…lol.
    Thanks for sharing.

    smiles

  24. kelmeister says:

    Holy crap, thanks so much for this. I LOVE Sage Francis, love Non-Prophets. “Damage” is my summertime anthem: great for full-blast out of car windows. Love this song’s bluesy vibe.

Leave a Reply

