Louis Armstrong – A Rhapsody in Black and Blue (1932)

13 Responses to Louis Armstrong – A Rhapsody in Black and Blue (1932)

  1. Colette says:

    Shared with Ash, but you may enjoy too.

    Two old favorites, together in “New Orleans” (where I just went for Jazzfest):

  2. taylor made 4 me says:

    I am in LOVE with this CD. MM is the most amazing person on the planet.

    YBTM…wow, wow, all I can say is I am melting. Why have I been so blind?
    RL…omg
    MBM…truthfully I am stunned
    OSC…cannot take this…save me

    I am going to the doctor today to get my vision checked…how did I miss this?

    The point is that NOW I got it. LOVE this. Thank you!!!!!!!!!!
    smiles

  3. taylor made 4 me says:

    Listening to the Best of the Doobies Brothers…wow!!!!!!!!!!
    Every song is amazing, I just want to close my eyes and drift away. Dance and dance and let my mind go. I didn’t know where else to post this, so thanks board once again for a spot to blog.

    Can summer come a little faster?

    Waiting as patiently as I can but it’s soooooooooo hard.

    I see it but it’s hard to believe. Summer is almost here. I think I know it, but I sometimes lose faith.
    The signs keep coming but sometimes it gets cold again, and I forget it’s true.

  4. hickifino says:

    Was that Pearl Bailey as the King’s student?

    I don’t think I’ve ever seen such a young Louis Armstrong. What a great video!

  5. taylorized says:

    Off topic I need Phantome cuse I can’t visit the boogie board it is asking me for my password and user name and still not let me in I will try again it has not been asking me anything since I signed up. I will be back later.

  6. taylor made 4 me says:

    Off topic but I love Taylor in silver. Just noticed in today on youtube. He was HOT in that silver jacket. Heart fluttering here.

    Hope that trend continues.
    Excellent choice.

    smiles

  7. taylor made 4 me says:

    Wow…that was a trip. The world was so different then. I watched the video, and watched it again to see more subtle undertones. Many thoughts come to my mind. I hear the plight of a people in this performance, and I think:
    His soul travels to no end pulsing through a dark vast night
    Gifts take pity on a wingless dove’s grounded flight
    Dark heaven caresses wild and lonely war-torn beasts
    Revealing dreams season them while formless thieves prepare feast
    Louis Armstrong was indeed ahead of his time. For one thing his attitude was unique. Armstrong was a happy soul, full of laughter, hope, and joy in a time when sadness prevailed in the community. Smiles from him are real as they reflect the purest energy from within his inner core. Still, I can’t help but think:
    From below his dancing eyes disguise all hurt waged before
    Flying overhead his polar spirits try to stop his own raging war
    Walk with him and one walks however bravely but coldly alone
    His soul grins in solitude to dim the darkness of all that is known
    His contributions to music are well documented, but Armstrong was a symbol in my opinion of the struggle for a people and for a time:
    He casts shadows in darkness that lead to his trusted gifted light
    But endless divine inspiration transcends visions in those without sight
    Eyes closed light pierces a foraged heart to bring forth form
    Thoughts wrestle pure energy where an endless vision of angels swarm
    Finally, Armstrong’s life and presence on the stage leaves me thinking
    It’s true that inspiration indeed waits beneath lights deserted road
    Travel it slowly she urges go willingly barefoot with your load
    Divine inspiration will come when your earthly plan will fade
    Creation is inspired by one’s torment dug by life’s soiled spade
    Armstrong was more than a pioneer in music, film, and jazz, he represented a spiritual surge as he faced a world unkind and unjust.
    Peel back your skin like lies and let Light penetrate thy soul
    For your deepest inspiration will bask and glow freely without toll
    Wake with me today not from sleep but from passage of inner Light
    Cast away fears and find joy in eyes that now have sight
    Armstrong was a vehicle of joy for all people, including his people and later…others who may not have had the vision to see his talents at the time.
    Inspiration sails the open sea to rescue the willing filled with wonder
    Yet the hungry still beg, the blind starve the unwilling spirits go under
    Inner Light whispers loudly in the wind pray open your soul to me
    Darkness restores itself in absence of Light while contemplating the plea

    Boogie-Thanks for sharing this clip, and for providing this board as a place for creative expression. I enjoy it so much.
    My inspiration today is the thought of a being a witness to the first summer sunrise over the Atlantic Ocean soon. A weekend in Atlantic City is coming and with it the chance to finally watch this beautiful star rise from the beach at dawn. I am counting the days.
    Smiles

  8. sooz says:

    Wow, where did you find this? He really had his own style, didn’t he? There was a lot to that short film, very sophisticated for it’s day. Cool tie-in with the guy mopping the floor with the soap bubbles and all the pouring bubbles on Jazzmania. Great stuff.
    Thanks for sharing it.

  9. graciecat says:

    Very amusing. This is exactly what I needed to end the day or start the evening? I’ve always appreciated Louis Armstrong’s talent particularly his “What a Wonderful World.” Thanks!

  10. JAG says:

    Wow this is a treat,we just visited Louie’s house in Queens last week and were treated to the history of his music while we were there.It was an interesting tour!

  11. karoray says:

    Wonderful!

  12. boogie says:

    You are welcome! 🙂

  13. Tayfancier says:

    That was thoroughly enjoyable. I’ve never really seen the younger Louis Armstrong. Thanks that was a Saturday night treat for me.

Leave a Reply

