Open Thread 9

This thread is here for you to talk about Taylor’s Tour, Taylor’s Music, Taylor Related Gatherings, Other Music, The Music Videos Posted Below, etc.

 

Ane Brun and Ron Sexsmith- song No. 6

 

 

 

 

 

Post away!

12 Responses to Open Thread 9

  1. mac_fae4taylor says:

    bjewel
    thanks for bringing this one up ! unfortunately it is not on the concert I found. But I did a quick search on youtube and came up with 2 –
    one old one that has the full song :

    The other one is short – but I prefer his voice on it…aged and worn.

  2. bjewel says:

    mac_fae4taylor, have you heard Ron Sexsmith sing “Secret Heart?” That is my favorite song he sings. I don’t have a link 😦

  3. mac_fae4taylor says:

    Regarding the video….Just a couple of months ago, I heard Ane Brun and Ron Sexsmith on a Paste Sample Cd
    Found this viedo on Youtube and became very interested in Ron Sexsmith. ( Ane not so much ) I like his sound and he writes beautifully. In searching around I found a live show on the flac files that Dewey lead us to and have been really enjoying what I have heard.
    Here’s some samples from the concert
    Speaking With The Angel
    http://www.sendspace.com/file/w5feen
    Imaginary Friends
    http://www.sendspace.com/file/qtgwxj
    Hands Of Time
    http://www.sendspace.com/file/lfq0mi

  4. graciecat says:

    Thanks for this video Boogie. Keep the music flowing. I enjoyed the lyrics of Ane and Ron. Interesting melody. Once again, I am learning about different artists that I probably wouldn’t have known about otherwise. Thanks.

  5. taylorized says:

    Jay Leno told a joke friday Melinda Dolittle lost because she is not sexy like Taylor Hicks and that I (Jay Leno) look like Taylor. Cute comment. I am watching the regions golf tournament in Hoover any chance they will have Taylor on this being a saterday well just watch and see I guess sounds good to me.

  6. CJ says:

    Not only is Carrie on but Kelly Clarkson will be there also. I hope Taylor has more then one and a half minutes to sing, although I think it is a two hour show .Let’s pray he at least has as much as the 5 minutes Elliot got. Just be glad when it’s all over with so Tay can move on!

  7. bjewel says:

    Gosh, they are so cute together. …The song makes me think, yeah, this Taylor art project I am working on…I can talk about his dimples and the tilt of his nose, how the bridge of his nose meets his brow in such a Romanesque way, on and on, and it’s all about the art! Hahha

  8. Marcy says:

    That is a cool video…..I like the sound…..

    I hear that Taylor is having a great time at the golf tournament in Alabama….I don’t have the golf channel but my girlfriend does and she said he has more people following him than anybody else!! During the Bob Hope Clasic I remember Tay saying that he never dreamed that people would come out to see him play golf……well believe it baby….you are well loved!

  9. madaboutu says:

    Me too, Bonnie on the TRP…….with exactly five BE THERE’S and the soft piano tinkling of Loren at the end. Yes, indeed!

  10. BonnieC says:

    Just thought I would check in a lurk for a couple of minutes this morning. Ther is no one here so I guess I have to post something myself. One week ago my husband & I were on are way to Seattle, having seen Taylor the night before in Portland. I’ve been on a Taylor high for almost one year now. Seeing him in concert twice last weekend just intensifed my feelings for this man & his music. I’m so looking forward to seeing him on the AI finale., but I very nervous about it also. After they’ve ignored him all season, it will seem a little strange. , Anyway, I really hope he sings TRP!!

  11. madaboutu says:

    Kinda cool vid above. It has a 40’s kind of vibe, which seems to be the trend with some singers right now. It’s far enough back to be new to the “younger” generation.

    I read that Carrie Underwood is also going to be on the finale on AI, so I guess Taylor will be sandwiched in somewhere. They are certainly stacking the deck to insure big ratings! And this way, no one can say it was because Taylor was on. YES, I have become very cynical. I hope that all these feelings will go away after the finale and I can forget AI for awhile.

    Of all nights to mute Leno while watching some Taylor on youtube……….he made mention of Taylor as his son again last night.

  12. Laurita says:

    Cool video, thanks for turning me/us on to it…

    Meanwhile, semi-related segue from CNN today which just showed up in my inbox
    (since we’re allowed to post about all sorts of stuff on these Open Threads, and I’m not sure which place on the B.B. to put this anyway…):

    “If you’re a female singer, you’d better be sexy
    05/18/07
    She was an “amazing talent,” a young singer with a wonderful voice who wrote beautiful songs. But she was no beauty, plus flat-chested and overweight to boot.”:

    http://www.cnn.com/2007/SHOWBIZ/Music/05/18/music.sexysingers.ap/index.html

    (I guess I’m still mourning Melinda’s departure…
    I know, get a life, etc… Believe me, I’m trying! 😉
    but then again, if I’m actually still using smiley face icons, I’ve got a long way to go, baby…)

Leave a Reply

