Open Thread 14.

This thread is here for you to talk about all things Taylor Hicks, the video featured below, and anything else that strikes your fancy.

.
The music video for Elvis Perkin’s “All The Night Without Love”.

The Chicago Tribune has a good concertline blurb about Elvis and his music here.

4 Responses to Open Thread 14.

  1. graciecat says:

    Ash, thanks for the video. I finally got to listen. taylor made 4 me, your words are so intensely expressive I am always left thinking,” duh, yeah, what she said.” (Smile.) I do hope you publish your writing someday (or perhaps you already have?) Marcy, thanks for your cue… time to go to sleep…

  2. Marcy says:

    That should be biggest..time to go to sleep…

  3. Marcy says:

    Hi Everyone….I was food shopping today at our local Wegmans Market when all of a sudden……you guessed it……JTFTW came on the radio throughout the store!!!! This is the first time I have heard Taylor in a store….I broke out into the bigget smile and began to sing along…..it was great! Here’s to many more Taylor songs being played everywhere….looking forward to hearing Heaven Knows next….I am in New Jersey.

  4. taylor made 4 me says:

    From the website http://www.mainstreamisnotsobad.com I found the following:

    The album conveys a melancholy longing, a searching, an emptiness, an attempt to understand and accept mortality, a grasping at some way to deal with life’s bitter blows. It evokes emotions that few musicians even try to summon up, never mind succeed.
    Part of the lyrics of All The Night Without Love…
    “Well I once caused your cells to shimmer
    And you once caused my cells to shimmer
    Now we go all the night without love
    Without love”

    The words above are not mine.

    Also Its Only Me on the same album, and Moon Woman II are incredibly written songs with deep mysterious lyrics. This guy is a genius!
    This guy has intense talent. His very sad life is probably part of the pain that underscores his haunting lyrics. I love this. Thanks so much for posting this video and introducing me to Elvis.

Leave a Reply

