“Why does my mind blow to bits every time they play that song?”- Jim James

Taylor Hicks- Ain’t No Sunshine (live @ Smith’s)

The Black Keys- Leavin’ Trunk

Neko Case- Deep Red Bells

Heartless Bastards- Gray

Taylor Hicks- Compared To What (live in Columbus)

Big Walter Horton- Gold Digger

MMJ- The Way That He Sings

13 Responses to “Why does my mind blow to bits every time they play that song?”- Jim James

  1. morewines says:

    I just burned a CD with “Ain’t No Sunshine” and others from Tay-online.
    Many good live Taylor Hicks music before American Idol.

  2. CJ says:

    What happened to the Boogie board?

  3. boogie says:

    Hapi,
    The version of Ain’t No Sunshine posted above is available for download on the Look & Listen page linked at the top of this page. I have never heard of a video of this performance.

  4. Hapi says:

    Where is this version of aint no sunshine available? This version, not another….is it on a CD? Or where can one download this? Is there a video of this version?

  5. AmyH says:

    I hope you love it, boogie! Looking forward to the MMJ goodies. 🙂

  6. boogie says:

    Thanks for the link, Amy. I am downloading it now.

    I love “The Way That He Sings”. Of course, I am a bit biased as My Morning Jacket is one of my favorite bands. Keep an eye out, I might be posting more of their songs and perhaps some videos on the future.

  7. AmyH says:

    Mmm … Big. Walter. Horton. Now there’s a voice and harp that give me chills. Thanks for that, Ash.

    I’m also REALLY digging “The Way That He Sings.” I’ve never heard that one before.

    May I share one? The first time I heard this, I was stunned motionless in my seat. I couldn’t do anything but just let it wash over me – and then I let it run me over again and again.

    “Shake My Hand” by Snooky Pryor: http://www.sendspace.com/file/1yui48`

  8. Crazymomelon says:

    Ain’t No Sunshine is the one Taylor Hicks song I have played for my son’s 20-something male friends when they where hanging out at the house and completely unsuspecting. They were incredulous and admiring – bar none.
    I’ve had older adult non fans ask if they could copy the cd after hearing it, then copy it for reals and return the original to me.
    This one song is what keeps me grounded.

  9. Taylorwow says:

    I love the way he says” Don’t go away–the night has just begun.” Little did he know what was in store for him. Also love that deep southern accent that shows up so wonderfully here. This was the Hollywood week song that made Simon say “One minute I wonder what he’s doing on the show and then I can’t wait to see what he is going to do next.” This is my absolute favorite!

  10. lubiana says:

    Yeah I have to agree- Tay’s version of Ain’t No Sunshine is pure bliss. I especially love the way he moans right before he puts the harp to his mouth- just an incredibly sad, heartbreaking sound. I would love a whole album of songs like that from him one day.

  11. JAG says:

    This is the most amazing version of Aint No Sunshine I’ve ever heard,it’s hauntingly beautiful and you would swear that the harp is weeping.Every time I listen to it it draws me in and literally takes my breathe away ! I hope Taylor’s version of this classic will get the recognition it deserves.It’s simply stunning.

  12. Marcy says:

    Taylor singing Ain’t No Sunshine absolutely blows my mind…..I predict people will be listening to this version fifty years from now…I can hardly wait to see him in an acoustic setting….awesome….

Leave a Reply

