Ain’t No Sunshine When He’s Gone

A Boogie Board member recently posted Twitterpated’s great montage Ain’t No Sunshine. I loved it the first time I saw it, I love it still.  When I heard there were more, I went looking.  She combined her video talents with some of Taylor’s most haunting recordings, and it’s impossible to watch them without becoming completely engulfed in Taylor’s emotion.

Someone I know from pre-AI days (and way too many nights in various establishments that my mother would undoubtedly proclaim “dive joints”) sent a link and a demand that I “watch this now, it’s friggin unbelievable” (well, she COULD have said friggin).  The link sent me to a video of The Maze that had just been posted by PayTheDevil.  She was right, it was friggin unbelievable, and thus began my obsession with PayTheDevil’s videos.  Apparently, Taylor may have also received a nudge in that direction since The Maze later appeared on his GoFish series.  I am sure his review was ultimately more eloquent and refined than ours, probably something like “what a delightful and entertaining video that was”.

Since we’re looking at some cloudy days while Taylor gets a much needed rest, this would be a great time to showcase all of the montage artists among us.  I personally never seem to get the chance to just cruise GoFish or YouTube looking for them, I don’t get to a lot of the boards, so unless something really puts it front and center, I miss a lot. We can take a deep breath and exhale after a non-stop tour full of cellcerts to listen to, videos to watch, pictures to look at, and recaps to read.  It won’t take long before fear of Taylor withdrawal starts to set in and you NEED a fix.  This is a perfect chance to check out all the hidden treasures you missed when they first were created.

Fall in love with the man and the music all over again.

These are favorites from my “must see” list, but there are many, many more great videos from very talented Soul Patrollers.  If you have a favorite, share it on the board.  It’s a great way for fans who don’t make it to GoFish and YouTube to discover them.  Be sure to leave a comment when you visit the videos to let the creators know how much we appreciate them.

THANK YOU to all of the generous and talented videographers, photographers, montage and graphic designers.

PEOPLE GET READY    –   from Twitterpated

TAYLOR HICKS – THE MAN, THE BAND AND THE RYMAN

from PaytheDevil

14 Responses to Ain’t No Sunshine When He’s Gone

  1. lulupod says:

    Ok – I was doing fine today – whistling and reading the Boogie Board and I realized I needed to catch up on this blog and WAMMO!……..People Get Ready (sigh).
    This video captured me when I first saw it and it still does…It’s so spiritual to me and
    Taylor’s voice just enhances the beauty. I could listen to it over and over.
    Ok, now I’m missin the man……I hope he found those notepads, as this is going to be a longggggggggggg winter…
    Twitter and PaytheDevil – my hat was off to you both then and again now.

  2. Beverly says:

    People Get Ready never fails to bring tears to my eyes. Beautiful and inspired work by Twitter with the soul man at his best.

    The Maze by PayTheDevil is my favorite of hers although I like them all. Taylor Hicks has some incredible, talented women in his corner. Say “thank you” Taylor.

  3. SoulReporter says:

    I have always enjoyed Twitter’s and Pay the Devil’s videos. It’s great to re-visit their work. Thanks for bringing them back to us. These are two of my absolute favorites.

  4. JAG says:

    Falling in love with Taylor and his music was so easy.Having access to these amazing videos is a plus.Thanks to all of you who have ,recorded,filmed and made it possible for us to enjoy.Aint No Sunshine blows me away every time ! As do the above posted !

  5. madaboutu says:

    My embed didn’t work on PIB. Sorry

  6. madaboutu says:

    EPISODE 24 PLACES I’VE BEEN by katja (The Purple Bus)

  7. Tayfancier says:

    When I first saw the Pay the Devil’s Maze video I really thought Taylor and his people were going to go with her video or one like it to promote the album.

  8. Taylorwow says:

    This is a great idea. I hope lots will be posted. Are there more posted than the two I see hear?

  9. PayTheDevil says:

    You are allvery nice. My three favorites are “The Maze”, “Birmingham” from the Alabama Theater, and “The Ryman”. I think each video in its own way expresses my gratitude for his hard work and dedication to his art.

    Paul was right, “In the end the love you take is equal to the love you make”

  10. cali50 says:

    Twitterpated and Paythedevil are two of my favorite videographers! Thanks for posting these! The “People Get Ready” one just gives me goosebumps everytime. I always thought Taylor should have paid PTD to use her Maze video as an official Music Video. Love it!
    I also feel compelled to say here, that I really miss Phantom and BigSis!

  11. dnjmorton says:

    Wow! the Ryman just about made me cry. What a welcome home for Taylor! He is amazing and the audience responds.

  12. c4tay says:

    I have goosebumps on my goosebumps! These video montages are so great, and Taylor is just so amazing! Thank you so much for posting these here for all to enjoy!

  13. juliegr says:

    Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful. You’re right — we DO have many talented people on the Boogie and the combination of Taylor’s voice with all the marvelous photos, videos, and clips makes some enjoyable montages.

    Thanks for starting off with People Get Ready and the maze. I’ve enjoyed them since listening to them earlier this summer.

  14. madaboutu says:

    Now that’s what I’m talkin about!!!!! Thanks for putting them all in one spot!

Leave a Reply

