Taylor Hicks is literally in control of his future

Found by luvtaylorhicks, these two articles from The Mullet Wrapper.

Taylor Hicks is literally in control of his future
By Fran Thompson

An excerpt:

[Taylor Hicks] made his Broadway debut in Grease, a gig he will keep through next year. “It’s like getting a brand new instrument,’’ he said of acting. “I know how to put a band together and go out and play music, but I don’t know how to act. I’m learning and it’s interesting. In a way it is similar to riffing off of a musician.”

“My part in Grease is small and I play it over the top,’’ he added, “but it has to be over the top. And the show is Idol friendly. It’s perfect for me.’’

Taylor sings one of his songs on stage after every Grease show and then signs CDs and visits with fans afterwards. It is a connection he does not take lightly. “Reporters have to take a negative slant. But they don’t see the down syndrome child who comes up and throws his arms around you and gives you a big hug, while you and his family share a few moments of joy,’’ Taylor said before a recent show in Biloxi. “That’s something I see every night. I do eight shows a week and I’m on the floor with the public in every part of the country. “Something like that hits you hard and it’s real, and it gets to me,’’ he added. “It’s not about what you’ve been talking about in interviews all day. It’s what happened right then and it brings you right down to Earth. God has a way of not letting you get carried away.’’

You can read the entire article here. I especially like the way Ms Thompson summed up Taylor from his days pre-Idol to now.
Hicks releases “The Distance’’ on his own label

Taylor Hicks new CD The Distance is the first he has released on his own label, Modern Whomp Records. Produced by Simon Climie (Eric Clapton, Carlos Santana, Faith Hill), it features eleven tracks ranging from soul to ballads to country, including the first single What’s Right Is Right.

“A lot of popular music sounds the same,’’ he said. “From track one to track 10, it’s the same thing. I just picked songs I liked and felt like I had enough of a unique voice to pull off. I have creative control,’’ he added. “If I want to go against the grain playing every kind of style that I love, I will sink or swim with it. Hopefully, I have good songs. I feel like it’s a solid effort, but every record is a learning curve. What’s Right Is Right is the soulful love song of the album,” said Taylor. “I think its wonderful message about love that people can relate to.’’

You can read the entire article here.

Leave a Reply

