Taylor Hicks, Billy Earl McClelland, and Josh Smith tear it up

Friday, September 25, 2009 – Workplay Theatre – Birmingham, AL

From Diane on Vimeo.

What a thrill it was to witness this live from the side balcony. I had a perfect view and perfect sound – who could ask for more?

Billy Earl shared a story from when Taylor was “a kid” (probably around 19 or 20): He said Taylor’s dad asked him if he thought Taylor had what it takes to make it in this business. Billy Earl told him it was a tough “bidness” and it took a lot of talent and drive to make it in the bidness … and he said, “I’m sorry to tell you this, sir, but Taylor has what it takes.”

I’d have to agree with Mr. McClelland – Taylor Hicks has what it takes.

9 Responses to Taylor Hicks, Billy Earl McClelland, and Josh Smith tear it up

  1. Savannah says:

    Awesome blog!

    I thought about starting my own blog too but I’m just too lazy so, I guess I’ll just have to keep checking yours out

    LOL,

  2. c4tay says:

    diane, I’m late in saying thanks to you for this gem! This is just awesome! Thanks so much! I love watching and rewatching it! So good!

  3. Marc Shaw says:

    Hey, I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog!…..I”ll be checking in on a regularly now….Keep up the good work!

    – Marc Shaw

  4. JAG says:

    Outstanding performance ! Thanks Diane !

  5. cali50 says:

    Wow, just wow!:)

  6. timewarpnut says:

    I totally agree! Thank you so much for this video, which will be one I will keep on watching… It gives me such joy! 🙂

  7. madaboutu says:

    This is going to be one of my favorite TH songs of all time!

  8. wings says:

    Thanks Diane and Boogie for sharing this. See that boy Taylor really is all about the music.

  9. Txsoulgal/Barb says:

    OMG Diane, Taylor Hicks, his GREAT band of musicians, and Mr. McClelland are outstanding. I love, love, love this video. So glad you posted this.

    I’m ready for another Workplay weekend whenever Taylor posts it.

    Here’s hoping for a “Christmas in Connecticut” shadow tour.

Leave a Reply

