Taylor Hicks’ In The Ghetto

It’s no secret that I (AmyH, aka peaches) am no fan of American Idol.  That’s okay!  I don’t hold it against anyone if they are and hopefully there are no hard feelings at my not being a fan.  However, I was (and am) a HUGE fan of Taylor Hicks on American Idol.

Where am I going with this?  Well, apparently it was Elvis week on AI recently.  I know this because of the Google alerts I have been receiving that compare Taylor’s rendition of In the Ghetto and what’s-his-name’s version.  Some have been rather balanced between the two, some have said this new guy did it better, but most have said nobody can touch Taylor’s ItG – it’s just. that. good.

Personally, I had been hoping for Kentucky Rain, but Taylor’s ItG was above and beyond what I expected.  He sounded great, he emoted with depth and resonance, and he looked damn good, too!

Check it out:

What did I tell ya’?  🙂

mp3

8 Responses to Taylor Hicks’ In The Ghetto

  1. Talorwow says:

    I posted this in the American Idol thread–repeating it here.

    I probably shouldn’t compare every performance of a song Taylor did to his performance. But with “In the Ghetto,” I just couldn’t help it. Michael’s fine performance made me realize just how amazing Taylor’s was. Didn’t sound like the same song. I recall that the mentor that night –big music big wig–talked about Taylor’s very personal rendition of the song and said “Very impressive.” He was blown away. And Simon looked awestruck and said “What you have just done young man is sing yourself into the semi-finals.”

    It had such emotion and such perfect Taylor styling, I will never forget it.

    Many people referred to this performance by Taylor as the “defining moment” of Season. I agree that that’s when his victory was assured.

  2. timewarpnut says:

    Totally agree! Michael’s version of In The Ghetto was very pretty and pleasant, but I can definitely “feel” Taylor’s emotions coming through on his version. He puts his heart and soul into whatever he sings!

    Thanks for reminding us, Amy!

  3. oldiebutgoodie says:

    Sorry-these are great contestants this time-and I specifically watched this week BECAUSE it was Elvis week-and I’ve like Michael Lynche from the start-but there is NO CONTEST between Michael’s acoustic soulful version of “In the Ghetto” and Taylor’s-in fact this whole version of Elvis week-except for two contestants-was a real DUD compared to Season five-the two exceptions being Crystal and Kim, both of whom ROCKED the King like he SHOULD be-
    And who decided ADAM LAMBERT should mentor ANYONE in how to sing Elvis Presley? Oh-only because Taylor’s Grease schedule wouldn’t permit it-I hope.

    Thanks peaches!!

  4. Tayfancier says:

    Loved Taylor’s version.

  5. hickifino says:

    peaches,

    When you’re right, you’re right!

    Taylor’s version is far more sensitive than the run-filled version that Mike did. I prefer Taylor’s version.

  6. JAG says:

    Taylor blew me away with this performance,the best version of the song since Elvis.

  7. madaboutu says:

    I guess it was more than 1:24! Wish it had been longer.

  8. madaboutu says:

    So true………for the 1:24 they gave him, Taylor did a fantastic job. They didn’t mention it on the show, did they.

Leave a Reply

